We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end easy eating”
Review of Big Easy

Big Easy
Ranked #18 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“High end easy eating”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Impressive entrance and very friendly welcoming staff, lovely setting and nice quality appointments. Had gazpacho to start which was very good followed by a great steak which I did not want to end. Portion of salad was stingy, as where the chips. Our waitress Terri was really good. Wines as usual good. Not the cheapest, but as always you get what you pay for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    426
    167
    65
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, ok food”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice restaurant with lovely outdoor dining. Food was ok and fine for just a casual meal but nothing special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2travel151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cold food and no service”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We decided to treat ourselves whilst staying in Stellenbosch, and booked dinner at the Big Easy. We thought we were fortunate to get in, but now I'm not so sure.

The building itself is lovely, and I love all the different rooms which give off different vibes. We were seated in the central court yard, which was a lovely setting.

We ordered our starters, which were cold (supposed to be that way), and the service up to that point seemed to be fine. Not amazing, but fine. Then we waited... and waited.. and waited.. and waited.. we couldn't even catch someone's eye to ask them where our food was.. I did see some customers being shown to their tables and provided with cushions.. We were not offered any and were on the same cast iron chairs.

We waited for over 40 mins for our main course, by which time we were famished.. Sadly it was stone cold! I think it had been cooked and then left in the fridge to chill. Cold mashed potao... Yummy.. NOT! If we hadn't been so hungry, we would have left it. Poor show.. Not just the waiting staff, but the kitchen should NEVER let the food go out cold. It reflects on the whole restaurant.

To be fair, the manager came to see us and decided not to charge us for the wine, and could not apologise enough. I know mistakes are made, and this was dealt with after the event, but for the price of this place, I still don;t think it's worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HongKongCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice environment, slow service, so-so food”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We heard and read so many good reviews of this restaurant so we made a reservation for the final evening of our visit. We specified that we wanted a table on their beautiful terrace. When we arrived they gave us a table in a dark indoor corner with loud elevator music. We pointed this out and was moved to a much simpler outdoor yard, this was the only option left. There we quickly discovered that the noise level from the big ventilation tower above the yard was very disturbing, making conversation difficult.

We got our wine and the starters, then it took 1,5 hours to get the main courses! The waiter explained that the reason was that they had many guests that evening...

The food was nothing to remember, for example we were served fridge-tempered mozarella, so it tasted nothing. We will not return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We liked it, except for the service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

While the food was very well prepared and delicious (I had a very crisp filet, with a very tender, medium-rare inside, my girlfriend the king clip, also enjoyable), the service could use some improvement. Late drinks and general inattentiveness spoiled the experience somewhat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Easy also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Big Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing