We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What we had was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Easy

Big Easy
Ranked #18 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What we had was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Only came for one course but what we had was good. I had a spatchcock crayfish and my husband had a beef burger and the wine which accompanied both were well chosen. A must for golf addicts of course!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NessandDorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    422
    167
    65
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
245 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Stylish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Huge wine selection. Food is good. Setting is in a old house in Stellenbosch and the service is great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abusultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just Right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visit Stellenbosch a couple of times a year, and, are always on the look out for somewhere pleasing to dine out. Big Easy is very conveniently situated in town, in a beautiful historic building. There are a number of rooms, and, as the restaurant is popular, it is a good idea, to book in advance and make a request. The website gives you all the details. We were directed to our seats, near the fire place (as requested) and made to feel very welcome and comfortable. We knew the 2011 Ernie Els Sauvignon Cabernet was superb, and decided to stick with it. Great wine. The menu sounded mouth watering and we were not disappointed. Venison carpaccio, wild mushroom risotto and king prawns in a beurnaise sauce got us off to a yummy start. For entrée we had venison loins, ostrich steak and angel fish on a bed of garlicky pesto mash and julienne vegetables. We were more than satisfied, and, decided not to have any dessert. The service was most efficient, the room had a lovely ambiance and we would definitely go back to Big Easy, again. Definitely a good "fine dining" experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ernie....stick to golf!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This was an overall bad experience! We were initially seated at a table in a barroom directly behind a door....we were told there were no tables available in any of the lovely dining rooms, although they did offer us another table in that same barroom...we took it, but it was a highly trafficked area - basically being a corridor between the restaurant's entrance and another dining area. The next couple that came in, however, were offered the same table - and when they balked - they were shown to an empty table in one of the small dining rooms! Our waitress was lovely but inexperienced. She took our order for a dozen oysters as an appetizer, but came back fifteen minutes later to tell us that they'd run out of oysters! We did change the appetizer order to salmon carpaccio and mussels, which turned out to be very good. Meanwhile, after about forty five minutes, our waitress came to tell us that our order was delayed because a party of 21 had ordered before us! When our food finally did arrive, the fries were cold, the salmon was tasteless, and the special of the day - crayfish - was over-cooked and dried out! SKIP THIS PLACE!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank frankandellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

A friend had mentioned the Big Easy so, once in Stellenbosch, we decided to give it a try. Very nice service, good location and food. We had oysters, black truffle risotto and a chocolate trio for desert. When I said I liked syrah, the waiter recommended this Rust en Vrede mix of California syrah and South African Shiraz red wine bottle. It was flawless! Because of the South African currency rate (US$ 1 = R$ 9) this meal was incredible inexpensive. Very nice evening at the Big Easy I must say.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Easy also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Big Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing