We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation for a one night stay”
Review of Magnolia Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnolia Place
Ranked #29 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Magnolia Place is close to Stellenbosch campus and ideal for a one night stay. The bedrooms are furnished with everything one needs. As someone who suffers with back pain I especially enjoyed the matress. A very comfortable sleep. The water pressure in the shower. and the noisy gate was a dissappointment though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Enid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great service and hospitality! Rooms were very cosy and very clean. Coffee, tea, rusks, juice and even different kinds of cereal were on the house for breakfast. This was just what we needed to start the day!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Magnolia has everything I need on a business trip. I use the self-catering option and appreciate the coffee and tea facilities and kitchenette available. Everything is always beautifully clean and there is always a very friendly and helpful staff member available - even late at night! We have also stayed with our children on occasion and it is really good for a family as well. Very affordable too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lindie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Service was good nd everything neat nd tidy,however the room was very small and we would have appreciated a bigger kitchen area.The kitchen area way too small nd the room little cramped but not too bad would have apprecated a bigger room,the utensils nd everything else was neat nd hygenic.The bathroom also clean and all cleaning material available

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights as a base from which to explore wine country. Alarm bells should have rung when I noticed bug spray and insect repellant in every room. We managed a tented safari without problems with biting insect so merrilly went to sleep. We both woke to find that we had been badly bitten. My travelling companion counted 12 big itchy bites on one hand! Totally putus off. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raprunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was a Magnolia place for 6 nights and I enjoyed my stay. The room was very clean, toilets and bathroom very fine. I enjoyed the company of the staff especially Berth and Siyas. I will recommend the place to whoever is planning to visit stellenbosch.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Dr Pierre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

For the price you have a good, clean and very well located guest house. This is the perfect spot if you want somewhere to just spend the night, no frills, clean and comfortable. We booked last minute and where all other places were asking ridiculous prices, Magnolia was right on the money. Close to Blaauwklippen wine estate and central Stellenbosch, not walking distance though.

Room Tip: Room 1 can get a bit noisy as it's next to the entrance.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#51 of 113 in Stellenbosch
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#30 of 113 in Stellenbosch
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rivierbos Guest House
Rivierbos Guest House
#45 of 113 in Stellenbosch
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baruch Guest House
Baruch Guest House
#16 of 113 in Stellenbosch
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#9 of 113 in Stellenbosch
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Place

Address: 11 Culemborg crescent | de Boord, Stellenbosch 7612, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $44 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Place 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnolia Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing