We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Stellenbosch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Middedorp Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Middedorp Manor
Ranked #24 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved our stay at Middledorp Manor. A friend had recommended it and from the moment we arrived we felt welcomed, our room was very beautiful, and the breakfast was delicious each day. Perfect location for branching off to explore the heart of Stellenbosch and hope to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyTravelChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    51
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
154
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirchberg, Austria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Even after two weeks at this enchanting hotel, we didn't want to leave. We felt thoroughly at home, and always welcome- regardless which requests we had. A G&T on a silver tray, whilst curled up on the terrace sofa? No problem. A XL pot of tea and cookies, when returning from surf school with the girls? What a clever idea. Breakfast at lunch time? Of course. I could wax lyrical about the interiors, too- but it really was Maxwell and Moyo, who made me delete the details of the Lanzerac Hotel, and capture those of magical Middedorp.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs suite for two weeks- enchanting. Lots of space and lovely views. Lemon tree bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable, the garden is lovely, the flower arrangements are impressive, the hostess & staff are charming and helpful, everything is within walking distance ... This is a very beautiful place indeed.
The only downside would be the price, ... I think that Middedorp is just too expensive during high season. But just perfect in the cooler months!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patap0uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The welcoming feeling of the guesthouse is overwhelming! A very caring Maxwell and Moyo went the extra mile to make us feel at home. We had a lovely home cook breakfast on the back veranda, overlooking a beautiful garden. The interior is absolutely gorgeous with lots of delightful little touches. The rooms are spacious, luxurious and very comfortable with an extra big bed. The Manor is within walking distance from all the main activities in the town – we had a lovely stay and I would recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Middedorp Manor had been recommended to us and certainly did not disappoint. The house is very close to the centre of Stellenbosch but quiet and peaceful with beautiful gardens and a pool. The whole house is beautifully decorated and tastefully designed. Our room was very large with superb bathroom and fabulous bed. Lovely little touches such as a welcoming treat, weather report each night in our room and a nightly treat on the bed. The staff were all so charming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast on the garden verandah was fabulous and the verandah on the front, a quiet place to sit and read. It was hard to tear ourselves away from the house to visit the town and surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had booked into another hotel in Stellenbosch which was a disaster, so we found Middedorp Manor on the Internet, and luckily for us Ysolde was able to take us in for the remaining 3 nights. If only we had found this first and avoided all the hassle of the previous 24 hours! A beautiful grey and white painted Victorian house, set in lush green gardens with a pool, sun beds and lovely shaded terrace when the sun got too hot. We were fortunate enough to stay in two rooms due to our late booking,,,,the first room on the ground floor was enormous, beautifully decorated and so spacious, with lovely bathroom and decor in shades of taupe, white and brown, and very calming.Our second room was at the front of the Manor on the top floor, slightly smaller (but still extremely spacious), and equally beautiful, luxurious and comfortable. A well stocked honesty bar meant we could enjoy sundowners either in the garden or on the wide verandah on the first floor, watching the world go by. There were all sorts of little touches such as a weather report placed on the bed at night, and homemade welcome cookies on arrival. The staff were all lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We had a feast of a breakfast each day, taken outside,and the Manor was just a few minutes walk from the town centre, and so convenient. A really lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor room very spacious Upstairs room slightly smaller but equally lovely - ours faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennydecember12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Middedorp Manor is a true place ! A very caring team to welcome all guests . A fresh and "home-made" breakfast ! We spent 3 nights at Middedorp Manor and for sure recommend the place ! A convenient stay on the routes to the vineyards .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#11 of 16 in Stellenbosch
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roosenwijn Guest House
Roosenwijn Guest House
#14 of 112 in Stellenbosch
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#18 of 112 in Stellenbosch
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Manor & Spa
Evergreen Manor & Spa
#31 of 112 in Stellenbosch
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#12 of 112 in Stellenbosch
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middedorp Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middedorp Manor

Property: Middedorp Manor
Address: 16 Van Riebeeck Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Middedorp Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Middedorp Manor is a luxury boutique guesthouse in historic Stellenbosch that offers discerning travelers an unforgettable experience in a distinguished environment. Set in a landscaped garden, our 100-year old Victorian house has 6 elegant guest suites, a library, meeting room and an outdoor terrace that overlooks the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Middedorp Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing