We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse but ground floor room a litlle noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rustenbosch Guest House
Ranked #92 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Friendly and helpful staff, nice garden with small pool (mostly fo dipping and not swimming), close to many wineries and restaurants. The room was nice with small kitchen. However, being on the ground floor was a bit noisy in the morning and bathroom was a a bit on the old side.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2010

Our family had a very happy stay at the Rustenbosch apartments for seven nights in January 2010. We liked the contemporary decor and setup. The large sleeper couch was one of the very few our teenage son could sleep on comfortably. The apartment was very clean, well equipped with air conditioning and the bedding very comfortable.

I returned to Rustenbosch in April for two nights and stayed in the main house. I booked at very short notice and slept in two different rooms (all that was available and I didn't want to look anywhere else). Room 1 was slightly larger with a bath and shower. Room 2 had a shower only. Both rooms were very well equipped with toiletries, tea/coffee faciltiy and fridge as well as a table and chairs. Marlene is an asset to Rustenbosch, she is most helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast around the round table inside (it was raining) was of a high standard and the home baked muffins especially tasty. I can higly recommend Rustenbosch for its cleanliness, easy access, friendly service and high standard of accommodation. It will be my choice when I return to Stellenbosch again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have stayed at Rustenbosch Guest House more than once in the past. Rustenbosch is our preffered place to stay when visiting Stellenbosch and we certainly will be staying their again in the future. The main reasons for this is that Rustenbosch is very well located, the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and it is great value. The staff has always been helpful and friendly. We often travel with sport equipment, mostly mountain bikes , and they have always gone out of their way to accomodate any special requests we have had.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

The Rustenbosch guesthouse is located in a quiet area of Stellenbosch, at walking distance from the university. City centre is about 20 minutes walking, which is a nice and safe walk, even in the evenings. Breakfast can be enjoyed in the garden. Ample of free parking space for your car. Friendly advice from Marlene about restaurants. WIFI is available, but at a cost of R 30 per 30 minutes, which is not a large amount of money, but it would be more friendly to offer it for free, taking into account the room rate. All in all a nice address to stay in Stellenbosch, in particular if you prefer a quiet location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FransenCo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We had a delightful stay at Rustenbosch guest house and very much enjoyed the personal and cosy atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and decorated with special care. The personal balcony provides a lovely spot for a romantic breakfast or to just sit back and enjoy a glass of wine. The location is great and close to all the sights and sounds Stellenbosch has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magdelcrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Centrally located in a peaceful neighbourhood - close to town as well as parks. The rooms are modern, stylish, sunny, spacious and well equipped. Suitable for both the businessman and the traveller. The best is the scruptious breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spice_manSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

I would definitely recommend this Guesthouse to stay over in Stellenbosch, if you are visiting the wine lands for leisure or business this establishment caters for your needs in every way ! I am planning to go back there just for the breakfast on your private balkony ! The swimming pool was clean and nicely tuck away for your private use in the hot summer days that Stellenbosch is famous for.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Life & Leisure Lifestyle Accommodation
6.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
88 reviews
3.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustenbosch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustenbosch Guest House

Address: 110 Merriman street | University Ward, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Hotel Class:3 star — Rustenbosch Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing