We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuvee Restaurant at Simonsig

Cuvee Restaurant at Simonsig
Ranked #27 of 244 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cuvee, our signature restaurant, will have you captivated with its quirky mix of nostalgia and Cape Dutch modernism. Enjoy genuine hospitality and uncomplicated dishes with a sustainable conscience from our locally inspired, seasonal menu, either inside or on the terrace, with a perfect view of the majestic Simonsberg Mountain.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We went wine tasting at the wineshop, which is right next to the restaurant and bought several bottles. We then had lunch at the restaurant and noticed there is a hefty mark up on the wine. We were also told we were not allowed to bring our own wine (being the estate wine we had brought 10 minutes previously.) Found this to be very cheeky, as the wine shop is literally a few metres away, and for this they were charging over R100 markup. Put a dampener on the lunch and we won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonsigWine, Public Relations Manager at Cuvee Restaurant at Simonsig, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good Morning Julie

We are very sorry to hear about your unhappy experience here at Simonsig. We would love to impress you if you'd like to come back and visit another time.

Cuvee Restaurant functions as its own business here on the farm and subsequently have their own liquor license. As you know, most restaurants have a substantial mark-up on wines served in order to afford the licence.

We have, however, taken your complaint under serious consideration and will look into the matter. As always we really appreciate your feedback as it helps us provide you with the best service and experience on your next visit!

Kind Regards

The Simonsig Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    72
    22
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sunday lunch for 7 of us to celebrate my daughter's birthday.
Fantastic venue under very old oak trees. We sat outside on the stoep.
Service was good/professional.
We had different starters, all of them good.
Main courses not so good. Pork belly was VERY dry, roasted hard on one side, poor presentation. Potato fries almost inedible.
Fish also not good, dry, uninteresting.
But then the sweets were quite good.
All in all a very nice venue, relaxing, good vibe but very average food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisOosthuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonsigWine, Public Relations Manager at Cuvee Restaurant at Simonsig, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Goodday Chris

Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We will take your comments under careful consideration to ensure a superior quality dining experience.

Inputs from the public make our task much easier, we thank you for that!

Kind Regards

The Simonsig Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and good value meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We popped in after wine tasting and were quickly seated on the shady patio along with a couple of glasses of Kaapse Vonkel (Yum!).

We actually wanted something fairly light, so both my husband and I went for a starter of salad (I can't recall which one) but it came with some potato wedges and was really quite filling and very good value!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice save.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were actually supposed to have lunch at a nearby market that promised a great time but was unfortunately not happening, so we stumbled upon the place and being hungry asked if there was a spot for two. We were 'very lucky!' to get a table, on the terrace, right by the garden looking over the more beautiful view through the trees onto the vineyard. The hostess seated us and suggested with it being early in the New Year and all, we start with a glass of Champagne? Sure, said I, wondering if it was a gratis thing or we'd been duped into something out of out price range. Fortunately, when the bill came we found that it was the estate bubbly, not the R57 a glass specialty so that was a relief. Then the menu. There was no discernible difference between the R70 meals and the R130 options but for a little line, which I found out was the split between starter and main, but wow, it all read delicious. My girl is vegetarian so it's always difficult when we're in the farmlands because they put a lot of focus on meat dishes but there were a couple of options so we settled in quite comfortably with our generously poured effervescent happiness and took in the atmosphere, watching an array of tasty looking meals being delivered to tables nearby. Wanting to get the most of the menu, I opted for two starters instead of a main, which worked out great as the mains seemed to be about the same portion size as the starters, and being a big guy, I was hungry. We'd had a look at the menu online and it was completely different to the menu we were looking at, but that's great, for return customers. My confit of duck salad and a tartar (finely chopped not minced) starter both arrived looking splendid and I wondered if I'd ordered too much, but they were both so delicious I managed. So with my girl's smoked salmon trout salad, the three starters came out the same price as two mains and we walked out after a thoroughly enjoyable restaurant experience without too much pressure on the budget. The place has clearly seen its heyday, being a little comfortable with their regulars coming through, and that's fine, because there's less of that intimidating pretentiousness you get at some estate restaurants. We felt welcome, cared for (posh) and left with a warm feeling of a grand day out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hout bay
Level Contributor
187 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“what a great pair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Thank you Anmarie and Paulina for a lovely lunch. We ate our way through the menu and chose the recommended wine with each course. What a fantastic experience, the food was cooked to perfection and the wines matched perfectly. We have been there before and will certainly be back soon. On a personal note I'd like to recommend the cheese platter, the best I had in a long time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hanns b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuvee Restaurant at Simonsig also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Cuvee Restaurant at Simonsig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing