We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simonsberg Guest House
Ranked #63 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have traveled most part of the world, but this was definitely the first that has excellent services oriented to guest needs. In short am yet to find such wonderful people like Lizzie and Tommy. so homely and friendly.

Room Tip: double en suite are definitely the ones to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnR9286CF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elize A, Owner at Simonsberg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated!
All the best!
Elize & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 38 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and had a lovely stay. Elize was amazing! One of the friendliest people I have ever met.

Very nice rooms and showers, everything very clean and well organized, with a calm atmosphere.

Is a bit out of town but feels very safe and Elize will bring you in and out of town as needed (for a small amount).

Would really recommend this place for a stay at Stellenbosch. You really feel like you're a guest at your friends or families house.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Yohan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elize A, Owner at Simonsberg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Thank you once again for your feedback, it is highly appreciated!
All the best!
Elize & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My stay was peaceful and the staff were friendly, but with a calm demeanor that puts you at ease. The lodge itself was neat, the facilities were all in perfect condition and you do really feel like a VIP. it is about a 10 minute drive away from town centre, but you rarely need to go into town, because your every need is seen to by Elize and her staff.

I implore you to try out Simonsberg guest house, because you WILL feel like a guest of honor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elize A, Owner at Simonsberg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated!
All the best!
Elize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Simonsberg Guesthouse is truly like a home away from home. I’ve stayed here multiple times while traveling for work, as well as while on vacation. The owner, Elize, is one of the loveliest people I have ever met in my years of travel. She’s kind, caring, and goes out of her way to make sure that you are well taken care of. (She also is very supportive of people in the community, and has a great personal story, which you can read about on the guesthouse’s website!)

The rooms are charming, comfortable, and clean, with all the amenities you’d expect in 3-star accommodations (tea and coffee-making facilities, nice bath products, wifi, etc). And if you’d prefer relaxing outside, there is a small garden area out front with seating.

Breakfast is generous and excellent – my husband thought it was one of the best breakfasts offered to us in a year of travel, with lots of cold and hot options (fruit, different cereals, yogurt, eggs, meat, mushrooms/tomatoes, toast, juice, tea, coffee, etc).

Elize is also very knowledgeable about tourism in the region, and can recommend different activities to keep you busy during your stay in Stellenbosch.

One tip – it’s helpful to have your own car if you stay here, because it’s not walking distance to the center of Stellenbosch. If you don’t want to rent one, though, Elize and her family can provide transportation wherever you want to go, including to and from dinner – I’ve done that multiple times, because I generally avoid renting cars.

I absolutely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elize A, Owner at Simonsberg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Hi Kaitlin
Thank you once again for your feedback, it is highly appreciated!
We trust you and your husband are doing well. It was WFP's 20th Anniversary last Saturday evening - celebrated with a Gala evening! I've had the funders as well as women on farms at my place - what a celebration! :)
All the best!
Elize & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3nights in Nov n have to say we were made most welcome. The family are lovely people and although based a little out of the way from stellenbosh itself its a good place to be. It is in the area of Cloetsville which is near a township but we felt very safe. Breakfasts were lovely. Although not advertised this is a cash only place and also initially we found it very hard to find. However people are most helpful and want to help. Just a suggestion for the owners maybe get some more signs up indicating where you are situated. All in all a lovely homely stay.

Room Tip: Great experience in an out of town B n B
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank UkHarrypotter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elize A, Owner at Simonsberg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated!
All the best!
Elize & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tamarahR2416LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andreh502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
434 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Stables Lodge
The Stables Lodge
#56 of 116 in Stellenbosch
129 reviews
2.6 mi away
Absolute Bosch Guesthouse
Absolute Bosch Guesthouse
#58 of 116 in Stellenbosch
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Joostenberg Farm
Joostenberg Farm
#1 of 1 in Elsenburg
2 reviews
1.9 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#5 of 116 in Stellenbosch
469 reviews
2.5 mi away
Besigheim
Besigheim
#77 of 116 in Stellenbosch
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonsberg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonsberg Guest House

Address: 25 Fontein Street | Cloetesville, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $75 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonsberg Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Simonsberg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing