We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, very comfortable, very relaxing!”
Review of Hazelwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hazelwood House
Ranked #47 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very nice, very comfortable, very relaxing!”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We were so pleased with Hazelwood House. Everything was done so nicely...the furnishings, the bedding, the appliances. They didn't cut corners when they updated this place. We opted for the self-catering option, since we had an infant with us, who has his own time schedule. Even the the little kitchenette was tiny, it was exactly what we needed. Top of the line appliances and the little extras were included. The pool was perfect for relaxing and very private. Even though we were staying in a house, it felt very secluded and quiet. The hosts were lovely, very accommodating. We hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
21
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed in Hazelwood House at least once a month during 2010 for work. It has beautiful rooms with a fully equipped kitchen in each. Newly renovated by the new owners. Soft beds, quality bedding. DStv. All rooms open into the huge, lush garden with beautiful pool. It is situated next to a nature reserve where it is safe and beautiful to hike/jog. The breakfasts are a treat - something unique every morning, very high quality food. (Thinking of other guest houses I've stayed in, I believe their breakfasts compare more with 5 Star guest houses.) Pet and child friendly. Easy access to all the beautiful sites in Stellenbosch and the winelands. Would recommend it for a short holiday or longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila_dK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We were one of the new owners' first customers and if this is typical of the service that everyone else will get, this is a must play to stay. The house is a little way out of the town centre, but well signposted and is well worth the trip. We had a small suite that allowed us to prepare our own meals (if we wanted to, that is - Stellenbosch has some fine restaurants) and a veranda offering views of the town - great in the evenings with some of the local wine. I can't overstate the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and their efforts to make us feel welcome and our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Just returned from Stellenbosch and really impressed with Hazelwood house. Really nice self catering apartments, well equipped Sat TV with all sports channels and Mnet, (what more can a bloke want) a nice big swimming pool, lovely gardens, and charming hosts. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunner47Beaconsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.2 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#12 of 112 in Stellenbosch
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison d'Bosch at Mazot
Maison d'Bosch at Mazot
#50 of 112 in Stellenbosch
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Life & Leisure Lifestyle Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casablanca Bed & Breakfast
Casablanca Bed & Breakfast
#65 of 112 in Stellenbosch
19 reviews
1.1 mi away
Orchard Lane Guest House
Orchard Lane Guest House
#63 of 112 in Stellenbosch
34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edelweiss Bed & Breakfast
Edelweiss Bed & Breakfast
#58 of 112 in Stellenbosch
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelwood House

Property: Hazelwood House
Address: 1 Nooitgedacht Street | Dalsig, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazelwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hazelwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing