We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, but poor view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Ranked #13 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I decided to splurge and book a luxury room. It was wonderful (especially the bathroom), but I was very disappointed in the view. To pay so much for a room with promises of vineyard views, I was upset to find a large tree branch blocking our entire view of the vineyard. I think the standard downstairs rooms probably had a better view! Even more frustrating is that this is an easily fixable problem - it's just a matter of cutting one branch off the tree. The room next door to us had stunning uninterrupted views, for the same amount that I paid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 430 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Fantastic room (Champagne) with an exceptional bathroom.
Great with a semi private porch but it did not quite have the same standard as the room.
Breakfast OK ...
A nice touch was the bottles of wine in the room at vineyard prices. Fantastic views but as usual, the pictures on the website exaggerates a bit.
The pool was OK but a bit small.
Location was great with many vineyards close by as well as several places to eat (Barrique restaurant is well worth a visit).
Could definitely see us coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Torben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The location was excellent for exploring the wine region and the whole place was relaxed. Staff were very helpful. This was our first time in South Africa and we would certainly use the Lovane again. I purchased a bargain bottle of the 2006 vintage which was absolutely georgeous.
Our only suggestions for improvement are, fix the in room safes (they were not working while we were there) though they did offer use of the hotel safe. The room was a great size but more drawer storage would have helped. Breakfast was superb why not do lunches and light dinner/ guest tastings in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The rooms are extremely comfortable and fitted with the best in terms of amenities, ie excellent shower, bathroom facilities, comfortable bed, etc.

We were in a deluxe room overlooking the vineyard which made for a perfect tranquil setting.

The service was superb and the breakfast setting and meal quality/presentation of the highest order.

Lovane is very conveniently situated to the center of Stellenbosch as well as the N2 for day travelers. All in all a highly enjoyable stay and a venue I would have no qualms in recommending.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deepee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The guest house has good views of the surrounding mountains and is conveniently located for quick access to Stellenbosch attractions. The room was comfortable and clean. The room has a fantastic shower! The breakfast was excellent. I can recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I couldn't think of a better location in Stellenbosh than a wine estate.
The Lovane boutique hotel has large and comfortable rooms, plus a nice lounge the guests can use at their pleasure.
The breakfast is huge and deliciuos, including a buffet and a cooked breakfast too.
The onlu down side is the swimming pool, that looked a lot bigger from the pictures.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lallina1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a stay for only 1 night, staff was very helpful and very friendly. We did the winetasting and this was interesting. Room was nice and very clean. Extended and good breakfast. We will definitely be back at the next opportunity.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S0wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.7 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
886 reviews
2.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
621 reviews
3.2 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House

Address: M12, Polkadraai Road | Vlottenburg, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $81 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guesthouse is an independant 4-star accommodation gem in the Winelands. Situated on a working wine farm, the guesthouse has 16 well-equipped rooms. Enjoy breakfast in summer on the deck outside, while enjoying the beautiful vineyard views. Cosy up infront of the fireplace in winter - enjoying some of our estate wines (including cabernet sauvignon, cabernet franc and petit verdot varietals). Now offering our guests a mobile spa service (please enquire from our reservation/reception area). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing