We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in the Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Ranked #13 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay in the Guesthouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked two nights at Lovane based on the information on Trip Advisor and Hotels.com, but were a little misled as when we arrived, we were actually booked into Lovane's self-catering cottage, which is just next to the guesthouse. The guesthouse is very pretty, as are the grounds, and the staff were friendly and helpful, and happy to offer advice about places to visit/restaurants nearby etc.

The cottage is ok, but fairly plain, and not entirely clean (ants in the kitchen, creepy crawlies and cobwebs in the corners etc). It is a good size for a family, with 3 bedrooms as well as a large kitchen and dining area and a living room with DSTV. There was no information about the area (maps, leaflets etc) provided in the cottage, which would have been helpful. The main building is much nicer and there is a small outdoor pool and deck between the guesthouse and the cottage, which was pleasant.

We did Wine Tasting at Lovane, which takes place in their own cellar. It was relaxed and good value for money (the wine tasting is free with the purchase of any of the wines). The host was informative and the wines were good.

Lovane do not serve dinner but there are some nice wine farms nearby that do. Our stay was nice but sadly did not live up to expectations due to the booking experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    147
    31
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
256
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fjaras, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Kleine Zalse when we visited South Africa and the Stellenbosch area in 2006 and 2009. However their prices have increased very much and we were not totally happy with our last stay. So when we visited the area recently we preferred to stay at Lovane this time. Lovane is a smaller wine estate but has in principle all the things which larger wine estates can offer. It is much cheaper, we loved the nice rooms, the excellent breakfast and friendly people. Wine testing was very informative personal, and free of charge. This B&B is strongly recommendable. It is very cheap, the rooms are in good condition and very convenient, the food is perfect, the people are very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kaj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Discreet but efficient, pleasant, service. The room was simple but stylish, and had a wonderful view across the vineyard to the mountains. The guest house and grounds are impressive and well maintained. Our stay there was a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. It would have been nice to be able to have lunch and/or evening meal there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nicholasp391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This property is on a small vineyard 4 Km from the town centre. Its a very good 4 star about 5-6 years old..Stellenbosch centre is and old Dutch town but it has expanded over the years into a city. There is nice restaurants and shops.



  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mikireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Absolutely loved this place. It's so pretty and scenic. The decor of the hotel is stunning, the wine tasting was very informative, the room was so clean and comfortable. It's a bit outside the town (maybe 10-15 mins drive) but it's worth it - the town isn't spectacular anyway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius, Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The room was very confortable with a nice view on the vines. The breakfast excellent with a perfect service and good choice of food.
Very nice hospitatlity and good advises for the restaurants around the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very friendly staff, clean and large rooms, little and nice wine estate, good breakfast buffet, wine estate is approximately 5 km away from stellenbosch, wine tasting is possible and included for guests

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annika2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.2 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House

Property: Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Address: M12, Polkadraai Road | Vlottenburg, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guesthouse is an independant 4-star accommodation gem in the Winelands. Situated on a working wine farm, the guesthouse has 16 well-equipped rooms. Enjoy breakfast in summer on the deck outside, while enjoying the beautiful vineyard views. Cosy up infront of the fireplace in winter - enjoying some of our estate wines (including cabernet sauvignon, cabernet franc and petit verdot varietals). Now offering our guests a mobile spa service (please enquire from our reservation/reception area). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing