We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graff Restaurant and Indochine Restaurant at Delaire Graff Estate”

Delaire Graff Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Delaire restaurant is situated at the winery and overlooks the Franschhoek valley. It offers approachable fine food with fresh and vibrant flavours. Guests are able to dine on the terrace under a canopy of pin oak trees or within the spectacular interiors designed by the interior architect and decorator David Collins, whilst enjoying the breathtaking views Delaire allows of the Stellenbosch Valley and Mountains. The signature dishes include: Pickled Beetroot Carpaccio with goat's cheese fritters; Crayfish Lasagne with king oyster mushrooms; Pistachio Nougat served with rose geranium ice cream.
Nashville, Tennessee, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Graff Restaurant and Indochine Restaurant at Delaire Graff Estate”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

These two restaurants, very different, are not to be missed. The food and service are both excellent, with beautiful atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank UrbanAreaNettie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,195
    255
    106
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Magical in every sense”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We dined here by sheer luck. The manager at our Hotel suggested that we may wish to dine here, well she was certainly correct. A reservation was secured and off we went.
The first thing I noticed was the floral display in the foyer very similar to Hotel George V in Paris though on a much smaller scale.
The restaurant has been beautifully decorated and clearly no expense has been spared. The staff are poised, friendly- without being too friendly and certainly knowledgeable. We enjoyed a pre-dinner drink whilst perusing the menus. We selected the wine pairing option which was a wonderful example of South African wines. The food is beyond divine, we ordered the Vietnamese duck which was probably the best duck we have ever ordered.
This restaurant would have to be included in the top 5 restaurants we have dined at around the world. There is absolutely nothing that could be faulted with the evening.
For us it was one of the best evenings we have ever had in our travels.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallymay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a very very good quality restaurant and I think one of the best dishes is the duck it is beautiful displayed on your plate excellent

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenzo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A brilliant place !”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The atmosphere is that of a classy bistro , the service is difficult to fault and the food is remarkable ! The dishes are creative, balanced and the flavors and freshness of the ingredients guarantee a great experience.

The wine list quite impressive and the sommelier (Rylan) very knowledgable and friendly.This place should be on every food lover visiting the area.

The estate in itself is probably one of the most beautiful in the Cape.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5senses59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
727 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Great view, great food, great service!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This meal was one of the best I ate. Quite simply the flavours in the lamb neck and goat's cheese lasagne were superb and the dessert with its salty caramel was out of this world. enjoying this while also admiring the stunning view is almost too much for the senses. My friends ate the fish and delighted in the freshness and excellent flavour. And the wait staff were excellent, caring, informative and delightfully amusing. Our only disappointment was that we had booked a table for our touring group to allow us to go on to our next appointment. We were almost an hour late going to table making it impossible to keep afternoon appointments and rushing our dining experience. This apart, this is a marvellous dining experience that I cannot recommend too highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaire Graff Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Delaire Graff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing