We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding meal”

Delaire Graff Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Delaire restaurant is situated at the winery and overlooks the Franschhoek valley. It offers approachable fine food with fresh and vibrant flavours. Guests are able to dine on the terrace under a canopy of pin oak trees or within the spectacular interiors designed by the interior architect and decorator David Collins, whilst enjoying the breathtaking views Delaire allows of the Stellenbosch Valley and Mountains. The signature dishes include: Pickled Beetroot Carpaccio with goat's cheese fritters; Crayfish Lasagne with king oyster mushrooms; Pistachio Nougat served with rose geranium ice cream.
Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An outstanding meal”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We tried Delaire Graff again, with some hesitation, as our previous visit a year ago was hugely disappointing. This time the meal and overall experience, especially the service, was outstanding. The restaurant fully lived up to expectations and all the glowing reports. We would absolutely make a point of returning whenever in the area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsyfitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,195
    255
    106
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Gone overboard”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I well remember our first visits to the Graff Restaurant in the course of 2011. We were thrilled by the extravagant interior design of the wine tasting area and the restaurant and the stunning setting of the outdoor terrace. The service was excellent, the food very good, indeed. Regrettably, the apparent success seems to have adversely affected this venue. Service has become sloppy and even arrogant. The food is still quite good, but the prices are now way above the local benchmarks. A pity....

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Great food...but not a cheap meal! Food very different and an experience worth trying especially if you are staying at Clouds next door. They will even pick you up and drop you back after the meal.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ClareSimpson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Level Contributor
262 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“The food is excellent and the view of Simon's Peak is fantastic !!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere, the food is excellent, the wine is delicious, the service is impeccable and is still the coolest view you have of Simon's Peak.
You will be impressed !

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaspaFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service at a pretentious winery”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Visited on January 2, 2012 for a wine tasting/coffee. It took 15 minutes for us to be seated, another 30 minutes our to table to be cleared, and another 15 minutes before our order was taken. At this point, we weren't interested in ordering food. Our waitress refused to serve us coffees because the restaurant was closing in 30 minutes - however she proceeded to bring coffee and soft drinks to a table nearby. To make matters worse, I had to get up and ask for the check myself after waiting another 15 minutes for it come. What an awful experience!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjennin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delaire Graff Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Delaire Graff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing