We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My little bit of heaven up in the clouds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at Clouds, on our trips to South Africa, and hopefully it won't be our last. The view across the valley is so magnificent, that it takes your breath away, and almost brings one to tears.
We stayed this year in the quaint little cottage's. With staying 8 nights we thought we would like to do a little bit of self catering. The cottage had every thing we needed even a video player. Although all I wanted to do was admire the view with a glass of chilled white wine. It is difficult getting a booking in the cottage's Jan, Feb, as the same people book every year. We stayed at the Villa two years before, and it is so beautifully furnished. The breakfast is so delicious, the problem being you are to full to have lunch in the beautiful winelands.
I would recommend Clouds to any-one looking for a quiet tranquil break. It is spotlessly clean, the owners Bernard and Perta, are always on hand (lovely people) to see to your every need. They even had the table set beautiful for us, when we happen to mention we were having some friend coming to the cottage for a Bar.b.q.
All the staff were so lovely and helpful.
I was so worried about writing this review, I felt it was our little secret find. I just hope they can accommodate us next time we visit S.A. It was truly the nicest place we stayed in South Africa.
Malcolm and Marcia. Stockport U.K.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 509 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2011

My partner and I arrived on Friday afternoon and were warmly welcomed and shown to our luxuriously decadent room in the Villa. If it weren't such a beautiful day we would have confined ourselves to the charming bedroom. Situated in the hills of Stellenbosch, close to Franschoek this gem is close to fantastic restaurants and wine farms! Definitely recommended for a romantic getaway. The views from our room were breathtaking and dinner at Delaire's (adjacent to Clouds) was very memorable. We will definitely return to this stunningly beautiful estate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

The 4 days of my life at this hotel was the best holiday I've ever had so far. It started on the first day when we got to our fabulous room and saw our heavy luggages already carried in there for us. The room was really spacious having a small kitchen and a big balcony looking over to the mountains in Stellenbosch. The bathroom had a bath and a shower separately!! I have to mention that you get complementary wine in a cute bottle (from their own vineyard I suppose) and night biscuits every day!! We were looked after the same way as my grandma did during summer when I visited her!! The room also had a jar of cookies and a jar of snacks/candies, which made it so close to heaven for me!:) The staff and the owners are incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was being cleaned and tidied twice a day! As if these were not enough, there was a cat living in the hotel (I am very fond of cats so it was like a present to me)!! The weather, the pool, and the view was also excellent. Although Stellenbosch was very hot during the day, it was cooler in the Clouds estate due to being in a position higher than the town centre. In terms of food, we did not have dinner at the hotel, but we only had a wonderful breakfast, which was chosen from a menu or buffet. On the last day, it was impossible not to be sad about leaving:( We hugged with the staff and went on our way to the sunny UK...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinarTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This is the epitome of country 5 star lodging. Site - Amazing both visually and situationally. Hospitality - Outstanding. Food - Brilliant. Decor - Wonderful. All round just such a fantastic place to be. The owners understand this business and the elements in it, to create a wonderful experience. Really outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I was here for a friends wedding in June. Wow! The views of the mountains and vineyards are absurd. You want to take pictures every minute.

The room was ornate but comfy. Big beautiful bathroom with a soaking tub and separate shower. The balcony was huge with great views. Sitting room in the common area had a great fireplace which we needed. The staff was very nice. From here you need to drive everywhere so make sure you have a car or call a taxi. The wedding was stunning. If you are looking for a gorgeous place to have an intimate wedding, I'd highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perrystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We recently stayed at this beautiful Guest House/wine estate for our daughter's wedding - the setting for which was absolutely stunning with fantastic views. The management, staff and owners were extremely attentive and helpful. The owners even gave us a lift to a nearby restaurant one evening because of exorbitant taxi fares quoted (for which we were extremely grateful). We had not hired a car on this occasion due to pre and post wedding arrangements, but would defintely recommend this to get the best from the whole area.

All the rooms in the guest house are beautifully and elegantly appointed (each with their own well stocked kitchenette area) and have a peaceful and relaxed ambiance; we also spent a very pleasant day after the wedding relaxing around the pool in the sunshine with a few drinks and a light lunch - couldn't ask for more really.

Thank you everyone at Clouds - we had a wonderful time and we all wished we could have stayed a bit longer.

You don't have to be attending a wedding to enjoy Clouds and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a bit of understated luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ManxMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

we were there to attend a wedding and it was just amazing. Location, view, food, wine - just sensational. The estate is well run with a very good team. Nothing was impossible and we really appreciate how well they looked after us.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaliciousGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
9.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,911 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
638 reviews
1.0 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
0.6 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Wine & Guest Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Wine & Guest Estate

Address: Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $162 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clouds Wine & Guest Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the world's most beautiful mountain passes, Clouds Wine and Guest Estate is one of the jewels of Helshoogte. The relatively small, private estate is a working farm that produces its own wines. It also offers premium guest accommodation that blends designer luxury with all the modcons. A stylish destination surrounded by incredible views, a stay at Clouds is difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Clouds Wine & Guest Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing