We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As near heaven as you will get!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clouds Wine & Guest Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As near heaven as you will get!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We are two Poms from Oxford in the UK who have been very regular travellers in your lovely country for nearly twenty years now.
Our reason for visiting the wine country in 2013 is because my daughter Sacha was getting married at Delaire Graff in February and we had to book accommodation somewhere nearby.
How lucky can you get? Just next door my lovely daughter found Clouds, it was undergoing extensive renovations, but she promised that by the time we got there it would be perfect.
And indeed it was!! We were greeted by the lovely Marika on our arrival, we were shown to a most beautiful room with views to die for!! We looked out over the pool, over the vineyard, looked at other vineyards and farms into the distance where mountains reached for the heavens! Wow!!
Other guests stayed in the hotel and the cottages, and the cottages are so roomy and excellent value for money.
Service from the staff throughout our visit was both friendly and professional and most of all they made every effort to ensure our stay was perfect and indeed it was.
The breakfast was freshly cooked, you could go very healthy or you could indulge in the African equivalent of a full English breakfast. Yum Yum!!
We would have no hesitation in returning to this wonderful location, we have brought literature to share with friends and if you as a reader of this review are looking for somewhere special in the wine region, look no further, get on the phone and book it now!!
Muchos gracias to all at Clouds - you are magic!!
MIke and Linda Skinner

Room Tip: Every room seems to have a perfect view of the valley and mountains - check with Marika!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    70
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
53
312
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We returned to Clouds in February, eighteen months since our last stay and the complete renovation is amazing. There are a series of beautifully appointed villas, glass-fronted pools and a beautiful reception and dining area. The only thing that has not changed is the view which would arguably be one of the best in Stellenbosch right next to Delaire Graff. We stayed in a self-catering villa so once we had checked in we had little interaction with staff. It is an easy drive into town and only takes a few minutes. Paarl and surrounding wine areas are all within 20 to 30 minutes drive. A very luxurious and enjoyable retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achthuizen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a few days at this luxurious resort. One always searches for such a retreat and now we found it. The rooms are extremely modern and superbly decorated and very spacious. The staff is very friendly. The owners had created and booked a great tour for us as well, meaning they booked a helicopter and private yet for us to visit the Gorah safari. My wife and I are spoiled brags when it comes to spending holidays but Clouds Esate is a dream come true. After that we went to Cape Town and spent one night at the Bay Hotel. Never book the Bay Hotel. It is such a disappointed after you spent a couple of nights at the Clouds Estate. Ones you have been there, you will definitely go back which is actually against our principles but my wife and I decided to break that very important rule all because of this tremendous holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vroegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Newly refurbished self catering villa was great. Nice furniture, kitchen, bathroom etc. - everything was tasteful and modern. Breakfast wasn't huge, but it was delicious and plenty - and the staff is excellent all around. Only hick ups worth mentioning and keeping in mind for others are: Some villas deluxe (10/11) share terrace and are in fact one villa spilt in two, so if your neighbours are either beautiful or ugly - it can have a positive or a negative impact on your vacation. DO NOT have them clean your laundry, get that done in town. We paid 1045 rands (more than half a nights room price) to have a standard shopping bag size of clothes washed. Use a laundry in town instead. Very recommendable place, would come back any time

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elkjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

There were no clouds at Clouds Estate! It was a bright, warm, relaxing and very happy experience: one you don't want to miss! The staff was very friendly and eager to be at your service. The interior and exterior is brand new and very fashionable! Wonderful view at sunset and very relaxing sipping a glass of their self-made wine every evening..
Only a few hours drive to Sanbone wild-life resort, where you can spot rare white lions and all sorts of wild life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felice_du_Pre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This boutique guesthouse exceeded our expectations. Modern esthetic. Spacious, comfortable rooms that open to the outdoors. Amazing views of the mountains and the vineyards. Mooi designed furnishings--so much so that it felt like being in a Mooi showroom. That's certainly not a negative as Mooi designs are iconic. Very stylish. Awesome management by Marika and Reder--very friendly and accommodating. Marika made excellent recommendations of which wineries to go visit, having clued in right away that we preferred a smaller boutique experience from wineries that produced quality wines. I guess that's why we fit right in at Clouds. Staff were always smiling and ready to please. Only minor irritation was some minor work was still continuing on the renovations of the property (mainly landscaping), and so we experienced some noise from delivery trucks/workers early in the morning. Otherwise, very tranquil. Breakfast, which was of high quality, was included in our stay. It was just terrific relaxing by the infinity pool on the most comfortable lounges ever, eyes mesmerized over the picture-perfect panorama of the winelands. Well done Clouds. We hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetTravel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This Sunday, we went to the new designed Clouds Estate to meet friends. What an amazing place! Modern design and nice people. We don't stay here because we already had a reservation in another estate. I should say unfortunately, because we would have stay in Clouds when we would have seen this beautiful place earlier. So, when you're thinking about staying in the Cape Winelands; go to Clouds Estate!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patrick1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
8.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa
1.1 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Wine & Guest Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Wine & Guest Estate

Property: Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Address: Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clouds Wine & Guest Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the world's most beautiful mountain passes, Clouds Wine and Guest Estate is one of the jewels of Helshoogte. The relatively small, private estate is a working farm that produces its own wines. It also offers premium guest accommodation that blends designer luxury with all the modcons. A stylish destination surrounded by incredible views, a stay at Clouds is difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Clouds Wine & Guest Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing