We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Newly refurbished self catering villa was great. Nice furniture, kitchen, bathroom etc. - everything was tasteful and modern. Breakfast wasn't huge, but it was delicious and plenty - and the staff is excellent all around. Only hick ups worth mentioning and keeping in mind for others are: Some villas deluxe (10/11) share terrace and are in fact one villa spilt in two, so if your neighbours are either beautiful or ugly - it can have a positive or a negative impact on your vacation. DO NOT have them clean your laundry, get that done in town. We paid 1045 rands (more than half a nights room price) to have a standard shopping bag size of clothes washed. Use a laundry in town instead. Very recommendable place, would come back any time

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Elkjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 521 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

There were no clouds at Clouds Estate! It was a bright, warm, relaxing and very happy experience: one you don't want to miss! The staff was very friendly and eager to be at your service. The interior and exterior is brand new and very fashionable! Wonderful view at sunset and very relaxing sipping a glass of their self-made wine every evening..
Only a few hours drive to Sanbone wild-life resort, where you can spot rare white lions and all sorts of wild life.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felice_du_Pre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This boutique guesthouse exceeded our expectations. Modern esthetic. Spacious, comfortable rooms that open to the outdoors. Amazing views of the mountains and the vineyards. Mooi designed furnishings--so much so that it felt like being in a Mooi showroom. That's certainly not a negative as Mooi designs are iconic. Very stylish. Awesome management by Marika and Reder--very friendly and accommodating. Marika made excellent recommendations of which wineries to go visit, having clued in right away that we preferred a smaller boutique experience from wineries that produced quality wines. I guess that's why we fit right in at Clouds. Staff were always smiling and ready to please. Only minor irritation was some minor work was still continuing on the renovations of the property (mainly landscaping), and so we experienced some noise from delivery trucks/workers early in the morning. Otherwise, very tranquil. Breakfast, which was of high quality, was included in our stay. It was just terrific relaxing by the infinity pool on the most comfortable lounges ever, eyes mesmerized over the picture-perfect panorama of the winelands. Well done Clouds. We hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GourmetTravel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This Sunday, we went to the new designed Clouds Estate to meet friends. What an amazing place! Modern design and nice people. We don't stay here because we already had a reservation in another estate. I should say unfortunately, because we would have stay in Clouds when we would have seen this beautiful place earlier. So, when you're thinking about staying in the Cape Winelands; go to Clouds Estate!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank patrick1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the totally new Clouds Wine Estate. The new owners (a Dutch couple) really transferred this estate into heaven on earth. Its modern ambience together with the top class service is unmatched. We have been traveling quite a bit over the world but never experienced a location such as Clouds Wine Estate. The breakfast service at the outside terrace is just wonderful. The new pool and its wonderful lazy seats are meant for relaxing in its purest form. The design and choice of decoration is handled by someone with excellent taste. The rooms are superior equipped with comfortable beds and large bathrooms. We have already made our reservations for the season.

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely good. Room nr 7 has a particular large own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauritsTeunissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wonderful stay from start to end.

The view is without comparison, it is the best in the area bar none!!

The owners and management take a real interest in their guests being happy at all times.
Nothing was a problem, service requests, information on the area etc etc.

Classy refurb now complete and new villas are striking and very impressive.

Our group was my wife and I (30's) and my parents (70's).
All of the property was accesible to all without a problem, and all were catered for equally.

We booked a villa each per couple, on room only basis, but the breakfast value was so good, we usually had breakfast their too.

The villas are really luxurious with their own deck each to make most of spectacular views. They are very roomy with a fabulous open plan dining, living kitchen. Ipod dock in Living as well as bedroom. DSTV on Slat screens. Luxurious furniture indoor and out as well as at the pool.

Kitchen is well equipped for those who wish to self cater fully.

This is real value for money.

Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlphaShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The winding road leading to the villas and main house is simply magnificent........it leads thru olive groves and wine lands all surrounded by majestic mountains ( which change from greys to lavender to pinks depending on the time of day) friendly staff greet and when one walks into the reception it simply is breathtaking..... Ultra modern crisp Italian and dutch design with the classic landscape ...what a genius contrast....unexpected but crisp and elegant.... A new standard for that part of the world! The architecture has cleverly utilized very modern lines... Beautiful sliding wooden shutters, clever lawns amongst biloa wooden decks..... With the most luxurious loungers.....all furniture has been imported and echoes the superb taste of the Dutch owners..... Everything has a beautiful design but none has compromised on the feel and comfort.... One could be forgiven for thinking one is in the most upmarket Milanese trendy boutique hotel..... The beauty is that with all the mod cons one has the fresh air, majesty and heritage of the franschoek area as opposed to the hustle and bustle normally surrounding this level of chic
The bedrooms are perfectly and ever so quietly air conditioned for balmy south African summers.... No cost has been spared for the fittings and amenities..... Great pod coffee machines, docking stations, satellite tv......or switch it all of, layback in luxury and enjoy the view from your bed or sit comfortably ( in the most beautifully quilted Italian methinks) outdoor chairs and read a book
I could wax lyrical but nothing can quite capture what an elegant modern place Clouds is...... A design marvel and a designers delight! Oh and the food.....sumptuous breakfasts and access to all the best cuisine of the region.......an absolute MUST!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms unique with great views superb amenities and very modern luxurious furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorynEbbTide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
9.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,988 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
658 reviews
7.4 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
403 reviews
1 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Wine & Guest Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Wine & Guest Estate

Address: Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $161 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clouds Wine & Guest Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the world's most beautiful mountain passes, Clouds Wine and Guest Estate is one of the jewels of Helshoogte. The relatively small, private estate is a working farm that produces its own wines. It also offers premium guest accommodation that blends designer luxury with all the modcons. A stylish destination surrounded by incredible views, a stay at Clouds is difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clouds Wine & Guest Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing