We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clouds Wine & Guest Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great accommodation with fantastic views, no, spectacular views, wonderful service and delicious food! Highly recommended! Sent 5 nights in the 'villa' rooms, suite 2, in a massive room with it's own veranda and a huge bathroom! The owners are intimately involved and their efforts make for a warm welcoming venue of excellent quality!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    69
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
311
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We spent one night at Clouds.Petro and the staff were very friendly and helpful.The room was spacious and the view breathtaking. Everything you need is at Clouds. Thank you Petro for making my stay so special at Clouds.
GOD BLESS YOU.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We spent three nights at Clouds and loved every minute of it. Our room was in the main house and had fabulous views over the mountains. We were welcomed by the owner herself who is very friendly and helpful. The wine on the estate is very good which we discovered very quickly as we got a bottle as a welcome. We would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

A wonderful place to stay- Petro was a very welcoming host, the wine is delicious and the views from our balcony were breathtaking. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Clouds Estate - just a shame we were only staying for one night. Our room was beautiful too. There are several vineyards within walking distance - we only managed a couple but our favourite was Tokara which also has a great deli and restaurant. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We had suite 7 - incredible views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottandSteph90992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We spent the last two nights of our honeymoon at the Clouds Estate following a personal recommendation about the place.

We had booked into one of the self catering cottages "JOY" and seriously, what a total joy it was. The cottage was incredible value given how spacious it was, how lovely the decor was and the absolutely unbelievable view from the front window ... or should i say front wall which was all glass and pulled back so it felt you were sitting in the mountains amongst the vines. On our second night we took advantage of the barbecue provided and cooked ourselves a south african braii, with all the candles lit on the veranda, and it was completely magical.

We joined our hosts, who couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, for a 7am breakfast to watch south africa in the rugby world cup, and felt like part of the family.

Thank you SO much for a wonderful end to our honeymoon

- Charlie & Milly

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MooMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

What a wonderful time we had. My husband and I spent four nights at the 'main house' at Clouds Estate, Cloud Seven. This suite has spectacular sweeping valley views. One morning we woke up to the surprise of cloud cover below us, what a sight! The accommodation is lovely, very well appointed and totally comfortable. The bed was genuinely like sleeping on a cloud. Best of all are the hosts, such friendly. welcoming and warm people. A big bonus was being accompanied on our daily walk by their dogs, Zack and Cokie. Clouds is perfectly situated half way between Stellenbosch and Franschoek, surrounded by spectacular wine estates, restaurants, villages. There is no shortage of places to eat and drink right on their door-step. I can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee_Inggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We took a "chance" on this place, having never heard of it, even though we live in Cape Town. What a surprise,the room was beautiful-we were upgraded at no cost simply because we were the only guests. Everything has been thought out so carefully.The views are truly magnificent, the friendly service was impeccable, and the breakfast was excellent. Petru and her team were wonderful.
It is the perfect place to stay if you're contemplating having dinner at the adjacent Delaire Graf-you simply walk through a gate between the properties, or Tokara which is just around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andre v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
8.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa
1.1 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Wine & Guest Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Wine & Guest Estate

Property: Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Address: Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clouds Wine & Guest Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the world's most beautiful mountain passes, Clouds Wine and Guest Estate is one of the jewels of Helshoogte. The relatively small, private estate is a working farm that produces its own wines. It also offers premium guest accommodation that blends designer luxury with all the modcons. A stylish destination surrounded by incredible views, a stay at Clouds is difficult to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Clouds Wine & Guest Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing