We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aan Dorpstraat Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
Ranked #43 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had a wonderful stay of 6 nights at Aan Dorpstraat Guest House in March 2013. Both before my arrival and during my stay the owners were very helpful regarding questions I had about my stay and activities related to it. They were very friendly, well organised and always making sure I had everything I needed. The room was beautiful and always kept clean and cool/fresh. The breakfast was fantastic as they would offer a choice of freshly baked bread or to make eggs, meat and vegetables. According to my research, the price per night is comparable with other similar guest houses in the same area. I can warmly recommend a stay at this guest house if you would like to stay in Stellenbosch. It is in walking distance to the village and in a safe and quite area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
61
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muntelier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed two nights in Aan Dorpstraat during our 3 weeks holiday in South Africa and we enjoyed every minute of our stay (it was way too short, so we will have to come back). The hosts Gwen and Johan are very friendly and helpful and we felt as we were visiting good friends. They did everything to help us and make our stay perfect.
Already prior to the arrival to Stellenbosch, we received valuable help from Gwen and were happy to read her friendly e-mails when planning our trip. She organised the pleasant and affordable transfer from Cape Town to Stellenbosch and recommended us a terrific guide for our Peninsula Day Tour (Cape of good Hope) and also helped us to book a Winelands tour and took care of restarant reservations which all made our stay very comfortable and contributed to the unforgettable experiences we had in South Africa. The guesthouse is in a pretty house and located in a quite area a few minutes walk from the center of Stellenbosch with good restaurants very close. We had a big, cosy and friendly decorated room with a beautiful bathroom (with african roibos bath products) and a big terrace (shared with other guests). The breakfast was plentiful and tasty and left no wish open (freshly baked bread and cooked breakfast from Johan, fresh fruitsalad, cheese, juices etc.). We had a wonderful time in Stellenbosch and we hope we will be able to come back soon again. We especially appreciated the great friendliness and the genuine interest Gwen and Johan have in their guests and the interesting and amusing talks we had togehter with them and their other guests. It was so much fun. We met many friendly hosts in the guesthouses we stayed in during our trip but Gwen and Johan are so special, they are the best!

Room Tip: We had a big room on the first floor (under the roof) which we liked very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemskerk, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Bill and Marrie from Kent have described exactly how we feel about Aan Dorpstraat. It is hard to criticize two hard working and friendly guesthouse hosts who have really given us an enjoyable stay at their B&B. And we were not dissatisfied in any way, except perhaps with breakfast. While Johan made us lovely poached eggs, the actual choice of breakfast was limited and what we missed most was some fresh bread. We are no big breakfast eaters, but there was nothing special to it. The loft room was quite lovely, we did bang a head or two, but it was really comfortable indeed. Location is also quite good, a short and safe walk to the village, yet the B&B is not in a lively neighbourhood. You may like that, or you may not.

The best and fairest way to be critical is this: Aan Dorpstraat was the first place we stayed during a two week holiday in South Africa. Except for two luxury game reserve lodges, we never payed more - in fact, most of the time considerably less - than we did at Aan Dorpstraat. Everywhere else we felt that room (we found ourselves in a presidential suite, a one-bedroom apartment and a very well run true 5 star B&B, to name a few), location, breakfast, service and professionalism gave us more value than we met at Aan Dorpstraat. At the end of two weeks, we had only great stays... This was just the first and, unfortunately, the least. Would still recommend if you think the points mentioned wouldn't be important to you. Fine B&B, but there are many better options for less money if you like.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gerardpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GwenHugo, Owner at Aan Dorpstraat Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words. It is true that we try very hard to please all our guests and to make their experience wonderful.

For the sake of possible future guests, I would like to please respond to 4 aspects of your review as well as that of Bill and Marrie:

1. Bread. We bake our own individual little loaves of bread each morning and have never had a single morning where there was not an abundance of fresh bread (white and whole wheat), warm out-of-the oven and plenty for all our guests. (We also have the option of toast)
2. Our breakfast selection. Each morning we offer: 3 different fruit salads - 2 freshly made and 1 stewed fruit; cold meats - good quality sliced ham, beef and chicken; 4 cereals; a cooked breakfast of bacon, choice of eggs, mushrooms and tomato; several cheeses, locally made jams and several other spreads; 3 different fruit juices and plenty of filter coffee and a selection of teas.
3. Our rate. This is based on our overheads. Stellenbosch is a very expensive town in which to operate a guesthouse. I urge future guests to please compare our rates to other 4-star guest houses in our town.
4. Rooms and ceiling beams. Our furnishings are of great quality and are well maintained, with a subtle, understated decor style. In 4 of our upstairs rooms is 1 fairly low ceiling beam.


Warm regards
Gwen (Aan Dorpstraat Guest House)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived, I felt like a family member. Nobody asked my name, they just knew it. Although, the room was small (single bed), it was very comfortable, cosy and had everything I needed. The breakfast was freshly prepared by the owner and by far exceeded my expectations. The guest house is very well located and within walking distance from the centre of town. It is not only about the building, facilities and location, but the warm friendly personal attention from Johan and Gwen, which makes this a unique experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BB88BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

we had a very pleasant stay at this guest house. It is in a quiete area, close to the center.
Gwen and Johan, the owners, had been very attentive and helpful with advices for restaurants.
we enjoyed the stay very much even though we had the smallest room.
good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E Kent,UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at 15 different locations while touring South Africa and this was our only disappointment. It is overpriced for the quality of the room which was "tired" and which appeared bigger than it really was due to the breaking out of low, beamed walls.We banged our heads several times. Owners a little inclined to stress.Overall not great.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was the third year staying at the Aan Dorpstraat. As usual we had a wonderful time with Gwen and Johan and standards are as high as ever. Johan's breakfasts are always a highlight of our holidays...cooked to order eggs and bacon and home made bread. Delicious. The staff are friendly and helpful and the guest house is always spotless. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Stellenbosch and can highly recommend the Aan Dorpstraat. Thank you Gwen and Johan for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller from UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Stables Lodge
The Stables Lodge
#56 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#45 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hunneyball House
Hunneyball House
#9 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kleinbosch Lodge
Kleinbosch Lodge
#16 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan Dorpstraat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan Dorpstraat Guest House

Property: Aan Dorpstraat Guest House
Address: 14 Papegaai Street | Twon Centre, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan Dorpstraat Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-Star luxury, B&B accommodation including air conditioning, internet, silent mini-bar fridges, filtered water, small swimming pool and secure parking. All rooms fully en-suite - some with bidets. Owners, Johan and Gwen offer warm hospitality and personal service. Located centrally. 2 - 10 minutes’ walk from great restaurants and business centre. Short drive to wine estates, golf course, beach and other attractions (30 km from Cape Town International Airport). No children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aan Dorpstraat Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing