We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and average food”
Review of La Pineta

La Pineta
Ranked #36 of 255 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Somerset West
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service and average food”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited La Pineta for lunch at 13.00 on Saturday with overseas guests. Our waitress was very unsure of herself and took very long to take our order, which was surprising as the restaurant was not busy. Our food arrived in drips and drabs, after which we did not see our waitress for at least half an hour. We had coffee after our meal and requested the bill at 15.00. Our waitress seemed to avoid us after this and after numerous attempts to get the staffs attention, we were informed that they were experiencing computer problems and could not print our bill. We eventually got hold of the manageress who was not too concerned by the situation, we requested that she manually tally up our bill. We eventually were able to pay at 16.00. What a disappointing visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craighindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    84
    23
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice venue”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A very nice venue, with fine dining options and special menus on special days.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wyn_Varkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience.”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were on our honeymoon and called La Pineta to check for availability. Owner was thrilled to have us over, gave us a nice table to dine. The meal was fantastic and by the end of diner we were totally chilling out with the chef and his wife talking about our holiday. Food presentation and quality was super and pricing was appropriate. I had a pepper steak which I ordered well done, chef decided to come out and tell me not to murder his skills but to order a medium rare. I am glad to have done so. Our appetizers as well as other main course items were a treat. would recommend others to go and will surely return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MunjalShah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

It may be a little unfair, since the restaurant had a wedding on the night we visited so may have been overstretched, but the service here was bad. The waiter didn't seem used to serving people, had an abrupt manner, brought us still water when asked for sparkling, sauvignon blanc wine when asked for chenin blanc, forgot a side salad ordered until I physically got up and asked for it, and couldn't work the credit card machine.
Having said that, the food was good - fishcake starter and steaks for main were perfectly cooked and tasty, but overall we were disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good food, lacking service, rude waiter”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This use to be one of our favourite resturants to go to - but unfortanetely lately the service has gone from bad to worse. Our waiter was openly rude, ignored our requests and walked way while we were still talking to him. The food is really good - but the bad service was embarrasing to me as the host of a party of 6.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pineta also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to La Pineta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing