We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You cannot get that much higher” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rust en Vrede

Rust en Vrede
Ranked #2 of 244 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Falsterbo, Skåne County, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You cannot get that much higher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

In short it was close to Nirvana, food, service, atmosphere & wine rolled into one!!! Nose, mouth & eyes totally satisfied!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    138
    53
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Although we had our special celebration on a Tuesday night, the restaurant was almost fully booked. The meals were outstanding and the service excellent. We will gladly visit again

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simplicity is class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Enjoying a very limited lunchtime menu was at first slightly off-putting, however the quality of the meal (sirloin steak with mustard butter and sides) was so good that it must rate as one of the most tender and flavorful in recent memory. To top it all, the waiters generously kept re-filling our wine glasses (one glass is officially included). I cannot wait to return for an evening in their main restaurant to enjoy what other delights come out of this award-winning restaurant! Well worth the trip out of Cape Town....the only downside was the GPS not being exactly accurate so we went off the beaten track somewhat...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE US
Level Contributor
553 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Fussy service and a dining experience that missed the mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was a big event meal that required a special effort to arrange that we had hoped would top our dining events in SA. We were staying in Franschhoek and had to get a driver to take us back and forth. Unfortunately, the service was stiff, overly formal yet inattentive. We did not want a drink before dinner since we planned on ordering a bottle of wine, but rather than offer us to view the wine list, he just walked away with it. No one came back to give us our menus or a wine list and after waiting quite some time we had to ask for them. However, staff knew we were there as they sent out little snacks. Finally we got our menus, but did not get the first course until we had been there a full 1 hour! Again, we had to inquire as to how long the wait would be since we had a driver picking us up, but we also didn’t want our nicest meal to be rushed due to the long delay. He looked shocked that we had not gotten any food. We asked to see the manager who refused to acknowledge that service was slow and told us they planned that the meals take a while. Of course we had watched other tables get 2 or 3 courses while we waited so we knew that was a line of nonsense. He should have apologized, but instead took the attitude that they knew best how to serve us food… The food itself was a lesson in how to put too many little things, e.g., chickpea puree, 2 chickpeas, little 1/4”square pieces of mint jelly on a plate to surround a small piece of protein. The actually proteins were nicely cooked and quite tasty. We had salmon, monkfish and lamb. This is an expensive restaurant and 1 to be avoided. (In contrast, several nights later we had an excellent meal and service at The Greenhouse.)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great wine tasting experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We just came here for the wine but now, looking at the other reviews, it seems we should have stayed longer; maybe for lunch.

The wine tasting was perfect and the lady serving us very friendly and very knowledgeable and informative on their processes and products. We felt more like friends than customers and will return.

And in the end when we bought a few bottles o wine, they waived the tasting fee.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rust en Vrede also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Rust en Vrede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing