We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service excellent with little sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rivierbos Guest House
Ranked #47 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Service excellent with little sleep”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I arrived on Friday at this wonderful guest house. The lady that check me in was so friendly and willing to assist me. I woke up at 02:00 with a noise level that was so high by men. I went outside to see what was going on and found drunk guys outside with this the same lady that assist me on my check in. She was busy to sort this guys out asking them to please keep quite and behave. I felt so sorry for her as she had to deal with this. She had her hands full till 04:00. The next morning I found her at breakfast speaking to the rugby guys (was confirmed then) of the way they behaved them the previous morning I would call it. She was so calm and spoke to the other guests and making them feel even more at home. Saying she's sorry about last night. All of us knew that she was awake the hole night but still found time to speak to all of us and smile. When I checked out I asked the lady at the desk Di where the other lady was she said " No sir she is day off". I would like to say that I call this service for someone to be the hole night up and then willing to talk to guests and making them feel important and personally apologizing to each guest. Well done Jennalee.

Room Tip: I would say ask for room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yk1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    59
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
30
63
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have booked to stay in March for one night with my daughter, having made and secured the booking on Booking.com. I have phoned twice before my arrival, and the reception informed me that my booking was secured and everything was in order. On arrival the manager informed me that they have overbooked me and have booked me into another Guest House. I will have to pay more now at the other guest house and the guest house was not in my preferred location! The Manager and staff was very unfriendly and did not once apologise for the inconvenience they have caused me! Simply implying they cant do anything and we will just have to move to the other Guest House. Overall a bad and disappointing experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Dap90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Rivierbos during Dec 2013, having booked through the local airline, kulula.com. What a disappointment! The receptionist on duty was downright rude and this trend was sustained during the serving of breakfast the next day,
Our room's shower floor and walls were covered with several weeks' growth of mold. We popped into another room to check whether the shower was more appealing, but it was not. The rude staff didn't appreciate our complaint about this. On day 2 the manager offered to refund us for one night's stay. Hopefully this promise will still be fulfilled.
We most probably won't be back since Stellenbosch has hordes of guest houses to choose from. Hopefully the others have friendly staff and clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostert585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is my second time travelling to Stellenbosch and staying at Rivierbos Guest House. Staff like always up to standard willing to assist. The manager was so helpful she made make sure we get to a restaurant that got halaal meat even prepared a breakfast for us so that we can have it. Now that I call excellent service. Thank you to you and your team for making our stay wonderful again. I will sure recommend you to the rest of my Emirates Airline staff travelling to Stellenbosch. We will sure see you again soon

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishaad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here & found the staff very unfriendly! Small rooms & dirty bathrooms. Breakfast was 8-10. We arrived at 8:30 & had to find our own cutlery, plates and glasses as staff had not re-setup tables. Some of the food was finished & was not replaced, thus making breakfast a first come first serve. Even though we all pay the same amount! Also I had paid before arriving online, only once we were leaving I was told that their site is not working properly & they don't always receive the clients credit card details & thus I had to pay again. Overall just a terrible experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Rivierbos Guest House, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Shane

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.

It is our aim to offer our guests a entirely satisfactory service at Rivierbos Guest House that's why we consider our guests recommendations about service very seriously.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had with the payment, breakfast and the room.

We will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our guest house service.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

Sincerely yours,
Guest House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent one night at Rivierbos Guesthouse in November. The experience was not what we expected. The building is very old and quite run down. They have 2 enormous dusty car parks - one in front and one at the back of the building which have taken up all potential room to have a nice garden. There is no lawn or gardens at all and the small pool is located in the car park right near the reception door. Our room was on the bottom floor down a very dark, musty alley way. The rooms are very small with a very creaky old double bed which would wake you up every time you roll over in the night. The mattress was terrible with a big dip in the middle and springs poking out in all different places. The shower is also very small with a broken shower door that needed to be slammed shut to stop the water going everywhere. All the rooms are very close together so you can hear all the other guests coming and going from their rooms at all hours of the night. And you can even hear them flushing their toilets above you or next door.

We paid R770 for a double room but this is hugely expensive for what you get.
The breakfast was ok with basic cereals, toast, yoghurt and hot breakfast of either scrambled or fried egg with bacon and tomato.

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a room with double doors leading out to the patio or a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoleBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Terrible service! We've booked for two nights with the creditcard in July for a special rate of 616 rand per room. Received a confirmation though no amount was taken off our creditcard.

When we arrived on Thursday we were told by a laughing and joking lady at the reception that we were "upgrated" to another guesthouse which we hadn't chosen ourselves. With a map and a brief instruction how to get there we were sent away. When we asked how this could happen she told us that "the booking system didn't synchronize" (??!). We hadn't received any notice though they had our emailadress and a phonenumber.

When we arrived in the other guesthouse (Yellow Lodge) the very helpful and friendly lady at the reception told us this happens on a regular basis. It turned out the rate in the other guesthouse was 700 rand per night, though they gave us a discount as they felt sorry for us. When we phoned them they told us it was not their mistake. We had also booked a winetour with pick-up so we needed to contact them to change the details, which we luckely managed to do with help from the lady at Yellow Lodge. After all we had a good stay there but it was not what we had booked.

I understand that we are all human and we all make mistakes, it just how you deal with it and how you solve the problem. Although we haven't even made it to a room or breakfast at Rivierbos I certainly would not recommend booking here as the service is beyond poor!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellenbosch
0.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#82 of 109 in Cape Town Central
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#34 of 112 in Stellenbosch
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#6 of 112 in Stellenbosch
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivierbos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivierbos Guest House

Property: Rivierbos Guest House
Address: 1 Hamman Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivierbos Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivierbos Guest House is ideally located on the bank of the Eerste River in a quiet, leafy cul-de-sac off historic Dorp Street, in the heart of picturesque Stellenbosch. Numerous restaurants, cultural attractions, coffee shops, supermarkets, boutique shopping, cinemas, vibrant student nightlife and the Stellenbosch University campus are within a scenic 5-15 minute walk. If you are looking for centrally located, clean, affordable B&B accommodation in Stellenbosch, then you have found the right place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rivierbos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing