We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a peaceful place”
Review of Knorhoek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knorhoek
Ranked #45 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Whenever you say Cape Town, I say Stellenbosch !!!

This time we were even more keen to come down here thanks to our friend’s wedding who couldn’t picked a better place. We couldn’t be happier with this beautiful location, the Knorhoek . It was easy to find due to the good directions posted on their site and far no more than 30minutes from CapeTown.

The wedding venue was great starting from the ceremony celebrated under the trees in their garden looking at the stunning views across to the hills. The restaurant with its location just completed the perfect day in a very traditional building which made it perfect. The meal was amazing the second course, lamb , was to die for. Two cubs wine selection was pretty right for the type of meal. I had the Twenty 12 Cabernet Sauvignon – cabernet France - merlot –pinotage and it was good : nice fragrance with an intense back taste !

Breakfast the day after by the veranda just after the reception was simply lovely, sitting by sun while having your early meal and looking at the nature surrounded by silence. Service was good.

The room in the cottage was very cozy and welcomed three of us plus a baby. The room was fairly big .The master bed was comfy while the two single beds on the sides just underneath the roof was right for the place. Very cute was the balcony overlooking the woods and the hills behind. The atmosphere was incredible and the furniture was ad hoc.
Call me strange, but I loved the satin glass in the shower giving you the right boost in the morning, being completely overwhelmed by of course water and light ! lovely.

Just a note: I believe we stayed in room 5 just after a steep staircase and it’s not the best choice for whoever is getting OLD ( me too ) or if he is carrying little babies with the pram. It gets Very complicated to climb up and down already without anything, I let you imagine how it gets while carrying babies and not being able to attach to the handrail - besides that, everything was very nice.

the cost of the room was pretty fair considering the stunning location and the service with Breakfast.

I will definitely be back and stay over to enjoy this lovely wine Estate again !

Ciao

Epi

Room Tip: try and book rooms at the ground floor to avoid the steep staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Epi
We really appreciate your kind and honest review. We love it when families and friends get together for special occasions and enjoy everything that Knorhoek has to offer. I agree the Towerbosch mutton is "to die for" I'm pleased you enjoyed our wines, the bedrooms and the scenery which is a beautiful back drop for beautiful celebrations. I'm afraid the stairs to the loft rooms are rather steep, but the original building dictated the renovations - the 4 stables below are now 4 patio rooms and the original loft we turned into 2 large loft rooms, with the kamikaze staircase!! Thank you that you are willing to recommend us and we wish you a great 2014.
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

We traveled to Stellenbosch for a friends wedding, staying in room 6 of Knorhoek for 3 nights; the 7th, 8th and 9th of March. The room definitely exceed our expectations - it was a lovely big size and really comfortable - with all the comforts you could need. The bathroom was lovely and the highlight was the lovely balcony which we sat out in the sun on in the mornings - gorgeous! You can also stroll among the vines and taste the wine which is a nice feature. The hosts (the two owners) were lovely during check in and check out however the woman looking after reception on the weekend was pretty unfriendly and I would even say rude. We ended up just not asking her anything - although it didn't ruin our stay. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have gorgeous balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClairePrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear C
Thank you for all the lovely compliments about the room, your stay with us and the general friendliness of the staff. I have had a chat to my weekend assistant and even though she is not a bubbly personality, I feel you, as a guest should be made to feel at ease and welcome.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit (another wedding maybe??)
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We flew half way round the world for a wedding of a couple who live 45 minutes away from our home in UK! What a brilliant excuse to visit not only South Africa but also this fantastic wine estate close to Stellenbosch. We booked into Rose Cottage which was perfect, a lovely big comfortable bed and all the home comforts you could wish for including a small kitchen. Having said that, you don't need to self cater on this vineyard as the food is exceptional, plus the wine's pretty good too. As a wedding venue it's almost unsurpassable with stunning views across to the mountains and a lovely traditional building in the grounds for the evening. In the morning breakfast is served by a helpful and attentive team with everything you could wish for. We were lucky with the weather and this, of course, enhanced the experience but it's quite evident that whatever the weather this is a brilliant spot for any special occasion. Thank you to all those who helped make it so memorable.

Room Tip: If you are a large family group, which we were, try and book ALL the cottages early so you can be to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear M
How can i thank you for your fantastic review? I loved the part about flying halfway around the world. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Rose cottage (we think it is rather "nice") and my staff is beaming that they produced the goods that visitors enjoy.
Thank you so much and we wish you a beautiful summer in the UK
sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

As returning visitors we hoped that that our time at Knorhoek would live up to our stay in 2012. And we were not disappointed. Once again we stayed in the family room, which has fantastic views. This time we were able to spend more time around the farm which was great. Although the room has kitchen facilities we chose to have breakfast and dinner down stairs. Breakfast was excellent as was the set 3 course dinner (very good wine!!!). With tha main restuarant, Towerbosch, closed on a monday my children were able to use the pool in the afternoon, which they loved. You can not beat the views and the setting. Knorhoek is extremely good value for money and all the staff friendly and helpful. It was another great stay and we hope to get back there very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Sally
The greatest compliment of all is that guests return for a second (and third ) visit and are more than pleased with their stay and of course, the meals and wine. When you travel with children, the best is when they can run around, swim and make a noise!! I have conveyed your compliiments to the staff and they say thank you very much - without their friendliness and enthusiasm, guests would have rather a dull stay.
thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review
All the best, regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I would thoroughly recomment this venue for a wedding as it was a lovely experience from the moment we arrived to the morning we left. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the food and wine was excellent. We were also very lucky with the weather - it had rained that week right up to the day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Angie
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased that everything went off so well. It is always a bonus if the weather plays along, but nothing actually could put a damper on a special day for a beautiful couple (it actually rained a lot the next day)
I shall convery your compliments and thanks to the team at Towerbosch as well as the staff at the guesthouse.
Wishing you and your family a wonderful Festive season.
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After a hectic day, this was a wonderful, peaceful sanctuary, enhanced with some very tasty Pinotage from their honesty bar. My room was spacious, and instructions had been left for my late check-in. Dinner was left in my room - a delicious vegetarian meal. The victorian bath, complete with legs, provided great relaxation.

Room Tip: The loft room I occupied was spacious and beautifully appointed, with a little balcony that had a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Eish
It is a beautiful morning after all the rain and snow on the mountains and your review added "sunshine". We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Knorhoek and of course, our wonderful wines as well. Thank you for mentioning the features in the room and I'm pleased you enjoyed the Victorian bath - nothing like soaking in a deep bath!!
Wishing you many more wonderful journeys.
Regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We really loved it here! The rooms are very authentic with tiled floors and old elements. Felt like going back in time. We were welcomed with a nice glass of wine! Great rooms, nice breakfast, nothing to complain. The only downside is that it is a little out of Stellenbosch so you will need your own wheels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baskotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Clients
Thank you somuch for taking the time to write this lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoy meeting people from all over the world and try to give them a feeling of being at home; relaxed and comfortable.
We are still having the most glorious warm sunny weather - not the true Cape winter!
Hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic.
Regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.7 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
636 reviews
8.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
1.7 mi away
L'Avenir Country Lodge
L'Avenir Country Lodge
#28 of 113 in Stellenbosch
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knorhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knorhoek

Address: PO Box 2 | Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $73 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Cape hospitality on a Fourth generation wine estate; breathtaking natural beauty of the mountain, rolling vineyards, sprawling gardens and natural streams; friendly locals to welcome you to tastefully decorated accommodation of your choice. Part of the Stellenbosch Wine Route, close to Franschhoek and Paarl ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Knorhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing