We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knorhoek
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
73
64
34
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
64
34
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuewine tastinglovely winenice settinghoneymoon suitegreat attention to detailstunning locationtasting roomstayed longersouth africaestateaccommodationmountainsbackdropfridgewinerysurroundings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 177 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had such a marvelous stay at Knorhoek...it was the highlight of our trip to South Africa. The tremendous beauty of the estate, coupled with the great generosity of our hosts, Handle & Ingrid, and the enormous expertise of Arno, their winemaker, made our visit one "for the books"! We ate well, drank better, and learned so much. And, the tranquility of the mountains and vineyards surrounding the estate gave the entire experience a surreal feeling...it was amazing. We're eager to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear K
I have shown your mail to all the parties mentioned - everyone thanks you for your kind words. Arno's talks are always interesting with his West cost humour and immense knowledge and passion for wines. We are privileged to live in this magnificent part of the world and are pleased you enjoyed the beauty of the surroundings and the natural friendliness of the locals.
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the 'honeymoon suite' which was supposed to be the best room. We were a bit disappointed with the room as it lacked a level of care and attention to detail. For example, a hole in the wall had been fixed with a filler but had not been painted so there was a big white patch on the wall, the shower screen was faulty so didnt close properly and there was a solid build up of dirt on the floor next to the shower.
Filter coffee and a cafetiere were provided in the room and the toiletries that were provided were very nice.
We experienced some difficulties with dinner in the evening. The staff were not aware of what was being offered to the guests e.g. 2 or 3 courses which left us in limbo as to whether we needed to drive into town for dinner or not. The staff at dinner was a lovely lady (Liesel) and the chef who we have to give huge credit to. Liesel was a fantastic waitress who did everything she could to make our evening as good as possible.
The food was excellent. The fillet beef and accompanying sauce was exquisite and the elderflower and champagne jelly was beautiful.
The disappointing thing with Knorhoek is that it could be fantastic. A bit more care and attention (some rennovation in places) and more staff to be available and provide a more personable service would significantly improve this place as the views and location are very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Rob
Thank you for your honest review and we'll definitely pay heed to your suggestions. The hole in the wall remains a problem as we are fully booked and have to choose between the unsightly filler and the room reeking of paint - we have chosen the former. (Guests depart at 11h00 and the next arrive any time after 2pm.) The faulty shower door is unforgivable. I have given your compliments to Liesel and we are very proud of her.
We trust we'll be able to make up for this discomfort when you visit us again. Sincerely Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Difficult review this. I love the place, just do not want it to get mobbed. Saying that we have just stayed there with full occupancy and it retained its charm. If you are expecting 24 hour room service with hot and cold running staff this place is not for you. If you desire a quiet, well appointed family run guest house this is the place. Situated centrally in the winelands it provides a great base. Quite easy to get to Cape town as well. The rooms are very clean, with all the facilities you need. We did the self catering bit, but breakfast and evening meals are available.

The wine produced on the farm is readily available at a very good price. Overall costs are good with a variety of rooms. This vineyard will be a favourite of mine for a long time to come, just don't tell everybody as I only get holiday at short notice!!!

Room Tip: Self catering cottages are just brilliant especially if you love to BBQ
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigeldoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear N
I had such a good giggle at your closing sentence "I only get holiday at short notice" Thank you so much for your very honest review - you actually summarised what we are trying to achieve at Knorhoek - a place like home, where you can relax en enjoy the local delights. We look forward to your next visit, never knowing when and where we shall accommodte you. Fond regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just been to stay (again) at Knorhoek. If you need a little time away, with great views, fantastic wine and food and awesome hospitality then this is the place for you. The location is a perfect base for exploring the winelands. We will return as soon as the finances permit.

t truly is a gem of a place to go and stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
It is always a pleasure welcoming "old" friends back to the farm and catching up on the years inbetween visits, over a glass of wine or two! Wishing you a great summer in the Uk this year!
Fond regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been for 3 nights in the wonderful Knorhoek. We loved this silent and traditional atmosphere. Especially the food was wonderful. The cook Liesel served traditional South African food. You have to ask for her traditional chicken pie. It was delicious!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doemmes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol V, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments. Liesel is almost a household name when it comes to her chicken pie. I have conveyed your compliments and explained the magnitude of Tripadvisor's influence - she is as proud as punch.
The farm is not all that silent at the moment as we are busy harvesting - yet a very interesting time for visitors.
Thanking you most sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews