We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding”
Review of Knorhoek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knorhoek
Ranked #45 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I got married at this venue in Feb 2012 and we absolutely fell in love with the up market, yet down-to-earth nature of the estate.

The accomodation is luxurious, but understated. It feels as though you're holidaying in a family friend's home.

Towerbosch is truly amazing and their food is superb. An idyllic setting for weddings and special group functions. The food and booze is extremely well-priced and offers great value.

The only problem that we incurred on the night, was that the on-site coordinator had recently taken over from a colleague and hence, there were some minor elements that weren't carried/followed through.

Overall though, it was an amazing experience and we'll definately go back for our anniversaries!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite - if it's available, is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrynWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolvn, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear D.
It is almost time for your anniversary - so I am wishing you a little early. Thank you for all your compliments about the venue and guesthouse. Please let us know what the hitches were in order to improve upon our service in the future. I really appreciate your taking the time to write down all these compliments. Hopefully we'll see you in the near future.
Happy Anniversary!! Regards
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 171 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wonderful! Thoroughly recommend anyone considering their wedding here, the accommodation, the staff, the venue, all fantastic, cannot praise this place highly enough. We stayed 4 days and the rooms were all lovely, the whole experience was amazing would go back today if we could!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 & 6 are beautiful, the cottages were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joolie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolvn, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear J7
You were such a wonderful, fun group of people that it was an absolute pleasure having you all to stay. I so looked forward to meeting the bride after several months of both official and amusing correspondence. What a lovely person and her family and in-laws were all so easy to have around. Thank you very much for your wonderful review and all the best for 2013.
Sincerely
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this lovely B+B and absolutely adored it. We opted for half board with breakfast and dinner on one of the night and really enjoyed our time hanging out in the living room just the two of us (we were the only guests there that night) by the fireplace and playing with Merlot (the owner's Bull terrier). The room is more than meet our expectation. It was clean and nicely decorated. I would definitely go back and stay longer to explore Stellenbosch the next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolvn, Owner at Knorhoek, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is important to us that you relaxed, felt at home and enjoyed the tranquillity that we are so privileged to share with our guests. Sincerely, Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and should have stayed for longer. It is a perfect base for exploring this area -- close to the N1 motorway, very quiet, lovely accommodation, friendly people, delicious local food for dinner.

It's inconceivable that we'll stay anywhere else when we visit this area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bokkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed for one night and arrived after 8 hours on the road. During the booking process which was all done online, Carol offered the option of dinner of chicken pie and dessert.
We received a warm welcome and after some time to freshen up we headed to the verandah of the dining room for our dinner. We were served the best homemade chicken pie I have ever tasted. Dessert was the perfect sized serving of fresh ice cream. The backdrop was absolutely beautiful, particularly as the sun went down and a full moon rose beyond the mountains.
Breakfast was nice and we received a warm farewell from Carol, and left feeling very satisfied with our visit to this beautiful part of the country.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 of the old stable block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We arrived at 2 PM on Sunday afternoon, and had hope to enjoy the restaurant but that was not possible. With 2 young kids in tow we gave the wine tasting a try and everyone enjoyed themselves. The children went on a wonder, the grown ups enjoyed the excellent wines on offer from Knoerhoek (superb rosé!).
We had a family room on the first floor, very spacious and perfect for our 2 nights stay. We did not try the breakfast, as we left early for a safari on Monday morning and were off to Franschoek on Tuesday so had our own stuff and the close proximity to Stellenbosch makes this very convenient for food shopping!
We must say that it would have been nice to spend a bit more time there, this is by all account a nicely run family guest house, lovely people and the estate is very peaceful and superbly located. We have hope to be back for another family holiday, and would do the same again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We arrived on 24th December which might have been the reason why the guest house was completely understaffed. You couldn`t get anything to eat after 6pm, no one was there anymore. As it is situated a bit secluded, you have to take the car to get to the next village (approx. 15 minutes away) for some food. There were beverages in a fridge in the lobby but there wasn`t even a bag of chips or something small to nibble. The room was okay, a bit outdated maybe but other than that completely alright.

Obviously, our experience at Knoerhoek wasn`t the best but it might be much better at a different time of year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.7 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
3.7 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
638 reviews
8.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
1.7 mi away
L'Avenir Country Lodge
L'Avenir Country Lodge
#34 of 113 in Stellenbosch
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knorhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knorhoek

Address: PO Box 2 | Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $73 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True Cape hospitality on a Fourth generation wine estate; breathtaking natural beauty of the mountain, rolling vineyards, sprawling gardens and natural streams; friendly locals to welcome you to tastefully decorated accommodation of your choice. Part of the Stellenbosch Wine Route, close to Franschhoek and Paarl ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Knorhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing