We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ons Genot Country Lodge
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Enjoyed our 2 night stay with Marlene who made us very welcome in this lovely hotel. Fantastic private garden outside our room where beautiful weaver birds were nesting nearby. As a bit of a twitcher, I loved the variety of other bird life in evidence. Bring your binoculars.

Adjacent Radish restaurant served excellent dinners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilbertoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    35
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
60
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had SUCH a lovely time staying with Marleen at Ons Genot. She was very warm and welcoming and so helpful! The rooms were superb - comfortable, warm, clean and so lovely! We had a lovely evening by the fire and Marleen was so accommodating. Their tag line of "where guests become friends" is certainly true! Would definitely stay again and again and highly recommend Ons Genot. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFM329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family booked at short notice to stay at Ons Genot Country Lodge close to Stellenbosch, but decided not to stay after we got there. The grounds were unkept with the "fish pond" in front dirty and empty and the place generally looking unkept from the outside. The reception area smelled like old stale smoke and an old couch looking like it needs re-upholstering. The owner showed me the rooms which were not too bad, but after expecting 4-Star facilities (as advertised, but definitely not) and getting such a bad first impression, we decided to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have visited Ons Genot, we are are a young (ish) couple, +/- 30 and have found the place to be of great standard both times. I'm Scottish and travel extensively with work, my wife is actually South African, so we have a good understanding of both local and international standards.

I can honestly say that the negative comments on one previous post are purely slanderous and not at all accurate. I would describe Ons Genot as a nice family run establishment, with good attention to detail. The rooms are not the Ritz in London (neither are the prices) but are of excellent standard, very clean and with great facilities (swimming pool, tennis, free tea/coffee, free port & sherry in front of the open fireplace in winter, which creates a really nice, cosy atmosphere)

The owner, Marleen was always happy to help with anything we asked her for.

Our rate included a dinner at the on site Raddish restaurant, in very nice settings, and a cellar tour
at a local wine estate.

Once again a great stay and we will happily come back to Ons Genot next time we come to Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Marleen the hostess really knows what she is doing, we really bonded with her in a short time and we normally don't have a need for it but Marleen really wants to help you. She arranged a couple of wine tours and taxi's for us. Simonsig is nearby , you can have a Nice (french)luxury dinner or if you want you can go to volkskombuis which serves traditional south african dishes. Ons genot sits next to steak restaurant which is okayish. We played a game of tennis, drank some wine, went to he swimming pool and to stellenbosch "down-town". Chose this place if you care about service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I struggle to understand some of the remarks on this place. We enjoyed a terrific welcome, a lovely room with its own garden, and a good breakfast. No coffee facilities in-room, but a residents lounge fully equipped.

On our stay, the restaurant was closed for the public holiday, which meant a drive for dinner, but this was a minor inconvenience. Very helpful young lady helped us plan our wine tour and we did agree this place deserves a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petervenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Being outside of Stellenbosch - the quiet bids you to relax and unwind. The sunset across the vineyards can be stunning. Marleen (co-owner) was always accommodating and caring. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast (included) at the 'Radish' restaurant was great. So much so, I stayed extra days. I would strongly recommend it for those to want to be close but not in the hussel & bussel of Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.7 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
370 reviews
2.1 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
580 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vine Guesthouse
Vine Guesthouse
#42 of 112 in Stellenbosch
36 reviews
5.8 mi away
Roosenwijn Guest House
Roosenwijn Guest House
#10 of 112 in Stellenbosch
324 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ons Genot Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ons Genot Country Lodge

Property: Ons Genot Country Lodge
Address: Bottelary Road | Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ons Genot Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vine Guesthouse is a luxury country retreat situated on the famous Bottelary Wine route of Stellenbosch, between Hartenberg Wine estate and Devon Vale golf estate. All rooms, with en-suite bathroom, are comfortably equipped according to European standards. Ideal to stay several nights or weeks. Thanks to our central position, we are the ideal hub to discover the Cape, play golf or enjoy the wonderful wines of the region. Our restaurant offers a la carte traditional cuisine. We speak English Dutch, Afrikaans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ons Genot Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing