We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ons Genot Country Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$147
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$124
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$140
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$69
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$131
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$97
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$49
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
64
35
7
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
35
7
1
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 111 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I struggle to understand some of the remarks on this place. We enjoyed a terrific welcome, a lovely room with its own garden, and a good breakfast. No coffee facilities in-room, but a residents lounge fully equipped.

On our stay, the restaurant was closed for the public holiday, which meant a drive for dinner, but this was a minor inconvenience. Very helpful young lady helped us plan our wine tour and we did agree this place deserves a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petervenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Being outside of Stellenbosch - the quiet bids you to relax and unwind. The sunset across the vineyards can be stunning. Marleen (co-owner) was always accommodating and caring. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast (included) at the 'Radish' restaurant was great. So much so, I stayed extra days. I would strongly recommend it for those to want to be close but not in the hussel & bussel of Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We and another couple stayed at Ons Genot for four nights and we all enjoyed every minute. We were on a wining and golfing trip and found plenty to occupy ourselves within a few kilometres. Ons Genot is a few kilometres out of Stellenbosch and so private transportation is necessary, although it does supply tranquility and relaxation in its rural setting.
Our rooms were spacious and clean, with patios with outdoor seating and good quality towels etc - one was an upgrade to air-conitioning the other cooled by a ceiling fan. Both worked well.
Our hosts, Marleen and Eric, were incredibly helpful on all fronts - Eric's IT expertise being very useful and Marleen's all-round bonhommie contributing to our enjoyment of our stay. On our final morning (we were due to fly home that night) we had arranged to play golf nearby but could get only an early teetime. Flight bag storage for the day was no problem and Marleen very kindly prepared a generous packed breakfast for the four of us as sustenance during the round - much appreciated, Marleen.
The Radish Restaurant (in the grounds) provided excellent food (the steaks, with their sauces were outstanding) in a beautiful setting. A cooked breakfast was also served in the restaurant.
The grounds were kept tidy and the pool cleaned of leaves etc each morning.
The comments of Jinty 125 and Heathrowdweller seem to apply to another establishment - not that in which we stayed. The first of these contained vitriolic comments of a hurtful personal nature which suggest a lack of monitoring by Tripadvisor staff and the second is little better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazCranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We cannot describe peacefulness we experienced in such beautiful settings. Marleen upgraded us on arrival. The room was a great size, with a patio and garden outside. We were fortunate to take advantage of their special offer, and had some amazing meals both breakfast and dinner at the restaurant which overlooked the dam. Recommend eating on the deck in the summer as the scenery is lovely.
Slightly out the way but it makes for a magnificent retreat after exploring the surrounding wine lands and towns.
We cannot thank Marleen and her staff enough for making our stay a very pleasant one

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Novijka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

.....doesn't deserve its ranking purely because its giving people a false impression of the standard of accommodation in Stellenbosch.
Stayed at this place in Jan 13 and quite honestly it was like the land that time forgot! The reception area is built from Kitchen Units - a terrible impression when one arrives and it doesn't get much better from there. The rooms were clearly furnished back in the early 90's and haven't seen any investment since. The curtains and bedding completely bleached out by the sun, the room a mish mash of styles, who knows what look they were trying to create here?? There is a stool clearly intended to fit under the make-shift dressing table which is taken up by the TV that you can't even get a picture on - satelite TV, you might have if only it would work. Anyway the offending stool comes into its own when you try to go to the toilet during the night and due to the fact that it needs to sit in the middle of the floor you are in danger of seriously injuring yourself on it! Things are glued and stuck together here, taps are broken and drip and there are ant infestations in the rooms and wasps nest everywhere. If you would like to charge anything such as your camera, ipad, ipod, smartphone as us travellers do, then you must negotiate crawling under that dressing table and when you locate the plug socket you aint gonna get your travel adapter plus plug in the space provided. And if you should want to upload or download anything prepare for the wrath of the management as they 'don't see why travellers need to upload photographs'.
The chore of breakfast, (and it clearly is a chore for all concerned) has been abdicated by the owners to the onsite restaurant -Radish which seems to be run by a bunch of surfers who seem to be inconvenienced by morning. They are unkempt and hungover at breakfast with bed head hair and sloppy sweats. They will ask you what you want for breakfast but wont give you any indication of what they would like to offer you by providing a menu - oh no that would be easy. The warm continental options are crawling with flies and the cooked option is swimming in grease!
The only positive I can say about this property is that it was clean. However, the place is being kept clean by the paid staff and I really hope they are paid well, cause its clear that they are the only ones doing the work around here! Marlene is a regular on the reception in sweating gym gear and Eric lurks in the shadows - his role not really apparent.
If you have never been to stellenbosch and the surrounding areas then you will not know that the standard here for accommodation and eating establishments is very high. For equivalent prices paid for this accomodation you can get a beautiful stay with exceptional standards. Unfortunatley the people here seem to have given up on themselves and their property, and I would recommend that you shop around and get value for your money and not be taken in by the ranking of this property as we were.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jinty125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnsGenot, Owner at Ons Genot Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Jinty125 (or must I say Heathrowdweller according to your previous review),

You must be the king of the kingdom of the Blinds. You mention things that only you see and experience. Are all are other guests retarded?

Why all these lies, defamative accusations and offencive insinuations?

It's still a mystery for us why you are doing this. What have we done wrong to you?

Your review(s) do not help tourists, it's rather the opposite, you are falsely misleading them and you are doing exactly the same with the Hussards Grill restaurant in Stellenbosch.

In addition, you are damaging other people's bona fida family businesses who have worked hard to built something up. Does this satisfy you? Does this give you a cick?

Is this the aim of Tripadvisor?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews