We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, fantastic service, will stay again”
Review of Acara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acara
Ranked #25 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We arrived at Acara after a delayed flight from England and were greeted with an oasis of calm. The owners Dave and Fiona could not have done more for us and Willow Cottage was perfect. The facilities are good with kitchen, satellite tv, internet, swimming pool. The location is excellent being no more than 30 mins from Cape Town, 20 mins from Somerset West and the long yellow beaches of the Strand. Having visited Cape Town many times and my wife being from the area we were delighted to find this hidden gem and would have no hesitation in recommending it. One final point the lady who handles the cleaning of the rooms Ginny deserves a mention for the way Willow was maintained, she was a credit to Dave and Fiona.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titanic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 213 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2011

I found Acara on TripAdvisor and was won over by all of the reviews. My husband and I were slightly disappointed when we first realized that it was about 20 minutes outside of Stellenbosch, but the stunning setting with views over the mountains and amazing customer service from Dave and Fiona more than made up for that! We ended up wishing we'd have spent more time at Acara and less in Stellenbosch. We spent one glorious morning relaxing by the pool with Fiona's gardens and the mountains as the backdrop. I highly recommend taking at least 1 full day to relax at Acara touring the local wineries.

In addition to providing the excellent accomodation, Fiona and Dave hooked us up with a great taxi company (Gentleman's League) who drove us to local restaurants and into Stellenbosch. We LOVED the restaurant Rust in Vrede, which Fiona had recommended as a romantic spot to celebrate my birthday and which was voted the number 1 restaurant in South Africa the day we ate there.

On our last morning, our transportation to Cape Town airport fell through at the last minute. Despite the fact that they had company, Dave offered to drive us to the airport without any hesitation. He was literally our knight in shining armour! He got us there just in time and wasn't willing to accept payment until we forced it on him!

Acara is an excellent B&B and I recommend spending a few relaxing days there. I hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alt170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Great place for a family vacation (kids 10 and 13 yrs)! Clean rooms, friendly personal, absolutely gorgeous garden, peaceful place. Kids spent a lot of time with the horses and dogs. We will certainly return to Acara. We stayed 3 weeks, but next time we could easily double the time :).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heli60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We had a great time visiting the Acara House. The location is a few minutes drive from the centre of Stellenbosch and a good starting point to visit wineries. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The rooms have a lot of space, are very clean and the pool outside is very relaxed. Really a reccomendation if you visit the Stellenbosch area!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtrechtJoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in December 2010 after reading about it on Trip Advisor. Well it lived up to the hype! It's situated in stunning gardens with gorgeous views of the mountains and a lovely heated pool. If you're in Stellenbosch you can do a lot worse than stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

What's a travellers heart looking for?
Clean rooms, bathrooms where everything is in good condition (and functioning), beautiful gardens, stunning views and the most important: wonderful hosts. Lots of privacy, but if you need somebody to answer your questions, Fiona is there.
Go to Acara and you'll find it..
We've stayed there for 6 nights at the Lavender cottage and enjoyed every minute.
Half an hour from Cape Town and 10 min by car from Stellenbosch with plenty of gooooood restaurants.
Whenever arround Stellenbosch and looking for a self catering room, try Acara. Thank you Fiona for the wonderful time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed here with my partner and his mom, and it was the perfect location. We prefer Stellenbosch to the tourist-town Franschoek, but it is still close enough to easily visit. Fiona and Dave were so helpful and accomodating, really made our time in the region just perfect. Their property is really quaint, and the pool a necessity in the summertime. I'd return here in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
693 reviews
4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,034 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baruch Guest House
Baruch Guest House
#15 of 116 in Stellenbosch
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#13 of 116 in Stellenbosch
259 reviews
7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#5 of 116 in Stellenbosch
469 reviews
10.4 mi away
Le Pommier Wine Estate - Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acara

Address: 24 Winery Road | Exactly 1.2km down Winery Road, nr Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $132 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Winelands, between Stellenbosch and Somerset West, Acara is nestled in a valley amidst scenic vineyards. A fantastic location for visiting the entire area - from Cape Town to Franschhoek & beyond, but yet peaceful and quiet. Beautifully appointed rooms, a sparkling heated swimming pool and large landscaped gardens. Amazing views to the Helderberg Mountains. A place to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Acara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing