We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Awesome Awesome !!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acara
Ranked #27 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome Awesome Awesome !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at Acara. Beautifully set in lush gardens, the well equipped cottage had everything (and more) of what we needed. The attention to detail was mind blowing. From the fragrant filter coffee, to the automatic dishwasher, the quality of bed linen and the indoor fireplace. I cannot recommend this place enough. Your hosts will bend over backwards to make your stay as memorable as ours was.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SH1Meyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
111
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My bro ,sister in law and I spent a wonderful few days at one of the Acara cottages . Fiona ,the owner , made us feel very welcome and made herself available to help us with recs for restaurants etc .
Very peaceful with beautiful views , the cottage more than met our needs . I highly recommend a stay here .

II

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank davidhulland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

In February 2014 I stayed at Acara on my way back to Cape Town. One of my highlights during my trip and one of the most memorable.The gardens are stunning and the scenery breathtaking. The cottages are very well maintained, clean and equipped with all the top amenities. I enjoyed a very restful and luxurious stay where I could relax and enjoy the pool, visit the horses, watch the owls in the willow tree and the flocks of guinea fowls that visited the gardens. Acara is well located. Midst in the vineyards, close to Somerset West and the shopping malls including Stellenbosch. Fiona and her husband are lovely hosts and were very helpful. They gave welcoming informative inputs for excursions etc. and were always attentive to any needs that I had. I will most certainly visit again when I am in that area..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Champagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Had a great stay at Acara in march 2014. Especially the garden and the pool is fantastic. The house was spacious and clean and everything worked fine. Child friendly!
Perhaps it could have been a bit more equipped in terms of kitchen utensils etc and there was a weird smell in some of the kitchen cabinets, but that's the only minor complaint we have.
Overall: a great place, really friendly host (Fiona), amazing garden and pool, good location in Stellenbosch and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona043, Owner at Acara, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi Peter,
Thanks SO very much for your fantastic review of Acara! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay here so much! :-)
Please, please contact me about how we can improve the kitchen appliances/utensils - we always strive to be home-from-home, so your suggestions are *always* welcome - if you needed something please just ask!
For our future potential guests, I have listed below the inventory for the kitchen in WillowTree Cottage. :-)
Electric coffee machine, manual coffee plunger, teapot. Complimentary filter coffee, instant coffee, teabags, fresh milk and sugar,
4 saucepans, 1 frying pan, baking tray, sieve/colander, salad bowl, salad servers, serving spoons.
6 set of knives, forks, spoons, teaspoons.
Potato peeler, grater, bottle sealer for bubbles, 2 cutting knives, scissors, bottle opener/corkscrew, whisk, can opener, breadknife, wooden spoon, potato masher.
Weber BBQ, BBQ knife/fork, BBQ skewers, BBQ tongs, kitchen paper, ice bucket, olive oil, salt & pepper.
Dishwasher (& the cottage is serviced daily), fridge/freezer, microwave oven/grill/convection oven.
Placemats, serving mats, 2 oven gloves, 2 breadboards/cutting boards, mats for glasses.
Candles, matches, lighter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just back from our stay at Acara and can't recommend it enough. The location is amazing, I couldn't imagine anywhere nicer to watch the sun go down in the evening or enjoy a lazy day. We stayed in Lavender cottage with our 2 small children (cot and high chair were provided) and we were very comfortable there. The gardens and pool are fabulous, as is clear from all of the other reviews here. Fiona was very helpful and Hayden also went above and beyond to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. We hope to be back at some stage in the future, a truly lovely base from which to explore this amazing area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieRCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berndorf, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were two couples staying in a cottage which was perfect for us. The privacy of the location, directly in the wine lands is an absolute plus. The pool area with direct mountain view to the Helderberg mountains is absolutely gorgeous, embedded in the lovely, careful maintained garden. This all in addition to Fiona's excellent service made our stay at Acara to a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent 7 nights here and loved the location, with the beautifully thought out and maintained garden and the spacious cottage - although we were a couple in what would normally be a cottage for 4, Willow Cottage. The cottages have been designed to provide privacy and restful views, and are serviced every day. Acara is conveniently located for exploring the winelands as well as the peninsula, and provides a haven of peace after a busy day. Fiona and Hayden were extremely helpful and hospitable: we hope we will be back some time soon.

Room Tip: Willow Cottage is the largest although the twin room upstairs might be a little small for a second c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellenbosch
3.6 mi away
Kleinbosch Lodge
Kleinbosch Lodge
#17 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#20 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#6 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.1 mi away
In the Vine Manor House
In the Vine Manor House
#35 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse
Lyngrove Wines and Guesthouse
#71 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acara

Property: Acara
Address: 24 Winery Road | Exactly 1.2km down Winery Road, nr Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Winelands, between Stellenbosch and Somerset West, Acara is nestled in a valley amidst scenic vineyards. A fantastic location for visiting the entire area - from Cape Town to Franschhoek & beyond, but yet peaceful and quiet. Beautifully appointed rooms, a sparkling heated swimming pool and large landscaped gardens. Amazing views to the Helderberg Mountains. A place to relax! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing