We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing garden”
Review of Acara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acara
Ranked #28 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing garden”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our stay was really great and Fiona was a wonderful and very caring host! Thank you so much :-) Having fresh breakfast in this beautiful garden was wonderful. The tour to the wine estates were great and the dinner at Longridges was one of the best dinners we had in south africa! The fresh flowers on our bed and on the table were a sweet Little Detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
111
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights following our five week African expedition and boy did we enjoy the warmth and cleanliness that was on offer here at Acara.

Fiona and Dave were helpful to all questions and I will be forever grateful for their recommendation of 96 Winery Road restaurant (which is a 5 min walk from your comfortable bed in the guesthouse). You won't be disappointed with food and wine here!! (Separate review to be written)

As a young married couple.. this was absolutely perfect for us as our Jacaranda Suite was clean, comfortable, Wi-Fi enabled and secured.

We are already preparing our return trip... =)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_fish00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our 5 night stay at Acara was absolutely fantastic. We stayed with our 2 small children in the Willow Tree cottage which had plenty of space and was comfortable and well equipped. We especially enjoyed the private deck for sitting and admiring the lush garden, and the fireplace for making our evenings so cozy. Fiona is so welcoming and is always available to help while still allowing us privacy in our own cottage. The two horses and two dogs were a wonderful presence on the property. The dogs are large, but well behaved and our children soon befriended them. Despite being surrounded by interesting destinations in the Stellenbosch area, our kids always preferred to return to Acara and spend time exploring the garden and feeding the horses. Acara is ideally situated near shopping, vineyards, restaurants, etc and has a stunning view of the mountains. We plan to stay at Acara on our next trip to the area. Highly recommended for families!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are making an outing to Acara on an annual basis and love the beautiful gardens, easy access to winelands, restaurants and shops!

Fiona and Dave are always welcoming and willing to go beyond the normal to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: Willow Cottage for 4 or more people travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay in the 2 bedroom cottage at Acara. The guest house is set on the outskirts of Stellenbosch and is the perfect base to explore the surrounding winelands.

The gardens are beautiful and extremley well looked after, it was great to relax either by the pool or just strolling around the flower beds. The backdrop of the Stellenbosch mountains provides a breathtaking setting.

Fiona was very accommodating during our stay and kindly offered to ring local restaurants or organise activities. We highly recommend visiting the restaurant over the road, Winery 96. Our meal was fantastic and one of the best we had during 3 weeks in SA. Book well in advance though as the secret has got out!

Many thanks Fiona.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is incredibly peaceful and relaxing. We stayed three nights in one of the two bedroom cottages. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The gardens were exceptional. Fiona is not only friendly and sweet, but she has an incredibe eye for landscape design. The location is great being just a short drive away from downtown Stellenbosch. They even washed our car just before we checked out. Fantastic service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

WOW! This is undoubtedly one of the most peaceful and relaxing places we have stayed in - we stayed in Lavender Cottage and what a delightful. We were met by Fiona with such a warm welcome - everything in each room was decorated tastefully and was beautifully clean. The gardens and pool are just another piece of quiet tranquility where one can let the stress of Joburg behind. Having had a wonderful restful night in some of the most comfortable beds we woke to warm croissants and rolls freshly baked. We enjoyed a wonderful braai in the evenings under balmy skies and I can only say that three days was not enough - Fiona thank you and we will be back - your hospitality is unbeatable - thank you - Jane, Jonathan and Jessica

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.1 mi away
In the Vine Manor House
In the Vine Manor House
#36 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#20 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
#35 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kleinbosch Lodge
Kleinbosch Lodge
#18 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
5.3 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#10 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
7.7 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#2 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acara

Property: Acara
Address: 24 Winery Road | Exactly 1.2km down Winery Road, nr Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Winelands, between Stellenbosch and Somerset West, Acara is nestled in a valley amidst scenic vineyards. A fantastic location for visiting the entire area - from Cape Town to Franschhoek & beyond, but yet peaceful and quiet. Beautifully appointed rooms, a sparkling heated swimming pool and large landscaped gardens. Amazing views to the Helderberg Mountains. A place to relax! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing