We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Bliss”
Review of Acara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acara
Ranked #28 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
JHB
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Annual Bliss”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are making an outing to Acara on an annual basis and love the beautiful gardens, easy access to winelands, restaurants and shops!

Fiona and Dave are always welcoming and willing to go beyond the normal to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: Willow Cottage for 4 or more people travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
111
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay in the 2 bedroom cottage at Acara. The guest house is set on the outskirts of Stellenbosch and is the perfect base to explore the surrounding winelands.

The gardens are beautiful and extremley well looked after, it was great to relax either by the pool or just strolling around the flower beds. The backdrop of the Stellenbosch mountains provides a breathtaking setting.

Fiona was very accommodating during our stay and kindly offered to ring local restaurants or organise activities. We highly recommend visiting the restaurant over the road, Winery 96. Our meal was fantastic and one of the best we had during 3 weeks in SA. Book well in advance though as the secret has got out!

Many thanks Fiona.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is incredibly peaceful and relaxing. We stayed three nights in one of the two bedroom cottages. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The gardens were exceptional. Fiona is not only friendly and sweet, but she has an incredibe eye for landscape design. The location is great being just a short drive away from downtown Stellenbosch. They even washed our car just before we checked out. Fantastic service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

WOW! This is undoubtedly one of the most peaceful and relaxing places we have stayed in - we stayed in Lavender Cottage and what a delightful. We were met by Fiona with such a warm welcome - everything in each room was decorated tastefully and was beautifully clean. The gardens and pool are just another piece of quiet tranquility where one can let the stress of Joburg behind. Having had a wonderful restful night in some of the most comfortable beds we woke to warm croissants and rolls freshly baked. We enjoyed a wonderful braai in the evenings under balmy skies and I can only say that three days was not enough - Fiona thank you and we will be back - your hospitality is unbeatable - thank you - Jane, Jonathan and Jessica

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at Acara during a recent bike trip through the Western Cape. We found Acara to be one of the most comfortable places we stayed during our trip. Our room was exquisitely and efficiently appointed. We loved the kitchen. Bed was very comfortable. They clearly put a lot of thought into the design. Fiona was very welcoming and warm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBNairobi_Kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have been to South Africa for many years now but this was the first time we stayed at Acara. A friend of mine recommended Acara and we´ve stayed for 3 nights and Fiona and Dave are wonderful people and very social. The garden and the upheated pool was a bonus. We stayed in Lavender cottage and I can warmly recommend it. Self catering is wonderful! We had a nice braai the last night with Fiona and Dave, it was so fun and a perfect way to end our vacation.

We will definitely come back next year in February :-)

Room Tip: All of the three cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_Stefan_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Acara in the Lavender Cottage for 11 days in January of this yr. It was a great experience. The owner, Fiona, is a charming young woman with a good sense for detail and beauty. The manicured gardens and the interesting birds which appeared on the property from time to time (including two spotted owls in the tree outside our cottage) were a special treat for us city-folks. Also, the two resident Rhodesian Ridgebacks, Zim and Kyra, made each day a bit more interesting as they greeted us on our return from an outing or when they knew we were about to have a snack at happy hr. on the patio! The cottage was adequately equipped and we were happy to have the air conditioner in the main bedroom as it was very hot during our stay. Since the cottage was a self-catering residence, I would have preferred that the kitchen contained newer utensils, pots and pans and additional dish cloths and perhaps a dishwasher. The grouting around the kitchen faucet tiles was a bit unsightly and in need of replacement. Otherwise, there was everything you could want for a comfortable and enjoyable retreat after a day of sightseeing. Our 6 yr old granddaughter (who lives in RSA, not far from the cottage) visited with us a couple days and enjoyed the pool. Unfortunately, one day we could not go in the water due to many feathers, bugs and leaves which had blown into the water. The cleaning machine which is in the pool most of the time did not seem to be working at full capacity. The internet connection was a great plus for our laptop. We would highly recommend ACARA to anyone looking for an especilaly beautiful spot in the Winelands of So. Africa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKerchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.1 mi away
In the Vine Manor House
In the Vine Manor House
#35 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#19 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
#32 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kleinbosch Lodge
Kleinbosch Lodge
#18 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
5.3 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
7.7 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acara

Property: Acara
Address: 24 Winery Road | Exactly 1.2km down Winery Road, nr Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Winelands, between Stellenbosch and Somerset West, Acara is nestled in a valley amidst scenic vineyards. A fantastic location for visiting the entire area - from Cape Town to Franschhoek & beyond, but yet peaceful and quiet. Beautifully appointed rooms, a sparkling heated swimming pool and large landscaped gardens. Amazing views to the Helderberg Mountains. A place to relax! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing