We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful intimate, spot !”
Review of Acara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acara
Ranked #25 of 116 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this B&B on our recent trip to South Africa. Our room the Jacaranda suite, was a perfect place to relax and unwind. Fiona was very sweet and made us feel very at home. We loved the gardens and grounds, horses and gazebo. It was just lovely!!! Another cool feature is the heated floor on chilly mornings or nights. The location was convenient to the nearby wineries and of course Capetown. Fiona gave us a wonderful recommendation for a restaurant nearby, 96 Winery Road. It was great and we could walk 5 minutes to get to it - just 1 vineyard up the road!! If and when we're back in the area we would not hesitate to stay at Acara again.- and for longer next time!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 214 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

It would be near impossible to find a more welcoming, convenient, and beautiful base camp for visiting the Cape then Acara. Fiona and the big pups made us feel so very at home, and offered the perfect guidance for fine dining take away, hiking, gardening and wildlife, and pretty much any other query we threw their way. We were traveling with our 6 month old, and our lovely cottage was a perfect distance from all our day trips and the fact that we had a kitchen and a quiet living room with fireplace at the end of our day was pinnacle. The gardens are the perfect place to relax with a local vintage while gazing at the surrounding mountains. We can't speak to how wonderful the pool felt, as it was a windy and chilly few days, but we would've relished a dip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadgerbadenATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our experience at Acara was overwhelmingly positive. It is set amidst a stunning garden + pool and grounds - a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The room was impeccably clean and tidy and included every facility one could need. Fiona also managed to accommodate our very late request for breakfast and recommended a number of wonderful restaurants together with a place for us to go horse riding! A wonderful experience, thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VasoParis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay in the Stellenbosch area. Acara is a lovely guesthouse situated in a rural setting with mountain views. Our room - the jacaranda suite - was well appointed, clean and spacious. Fiona our host was very accommodating going the extra mile to ensure our needs were met. Overall a fantastic place to stay and get away from it all. We would not hesitate to reccommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was a real pleasure staying with Dave and Fiona at their lovely place in Stellenbosch! They are very warm and welcoming hosts with plenty of great suggestions for places to visit during our stay.

We had two very restful nights in the Jacaranda suite while we conducted a whirlwind tour of the wineries to finish up our vacation before heading home.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Brett_n_Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night purely in order to go to Rust en Vrede for a long dreamed of dinner as it's quite close by. What a lovely tranquil spot! We stayed in Jacaranda. The rooms are comfortable, very well equipped and the beds are great. Fiona, the owner, is a gem, friendly and a pleasure to chat to. They have a beautiful garden designed to attract birds. The resident Eagle owls were a pleasure to see. We will defintely be back and have already recommended Acara to quite a few of our friends. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theXmases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited this wonderful B & B in April 2012 along with a single friend of ours. We stayed in the Willow Tree Cottage, with one double and one twin room. I can only say that the whole experience was wonderful, although that word doesn't come close to describing it.

The bedrooms were beautifully furnished, the kitchen was well stocked with the essential crockery and cutlery, the TV and dining areas were spacious and useful, and the decking outside felt private without being tucked out of the way of the lovely garden.

Fiona - the owner of the B & B - was helpful and friendly, and knows how to strike a very good balance between being readily available while not hanging around!

The only problem I had was not being able to stay there longer! I would love to have another opportunity to visit Stellenbosch just so that I would have an excuse to stay at Acara.

An all-round fantastic experience which I would whole heartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine_ef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.2 mi away
Baruch Guest House
Baruch Guest House
#12 of 116 in Stellenbosch
164 reviews
5.3 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#14 of 116 in Stellenbosch
262 reviews
7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#5 of 116 in Stellenbosch
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Keren's Vine
Keren's Vine
#28 of 116 in Stellenbosch
209 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hunneyball House
Hunneyball House
#11 of 116 in Stellenbosch
229 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hoopenburg Guest House
Hoopenburg Guest House
#33 of 116 in Stellenbosch
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acara

Address: 24 Winery Road | Exactly 1.2km down Winery Road, nr Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $138 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Winelands, between Stellenbosch and Somerset West, Acara is nestled in a valley amidst scenic vineyards. A fantastic location for visiting the entire area - from Cape Town to Franschhoek & beyond, but yet peaceful and quiet. Beautifully appointed rooms, a sparkling heated swimming pool and large landscaped gardens. Amazing views to the Helderberg Mountains. A place to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Acara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing