We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in the Cape Winelands.”
Review of Acara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acara
Ranked #28 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in the Cape Winelands.”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a truly great stay at Acara! The cottages were superb and as we were there in winter time we used the fireplace in the evenings, not so much for heating, since there are heated floors but more for the mood. After a full day of work it was great to get back "home".
The pool looked very nice but we didn't try it out, will for sure do that the next time we are down there if it's summertime then..
They had two Rhodesian Ridgebacks that looked intimidating but they were very cuddly and nice!
Locationwise, well.. What can we say? The absolut top spot to stay at when you are visiting vineyards. There is a restaurant which is awesome, 96 Winery Rd, just a few hundred meters away so it's walking distance.

Will we be back? Yeah, you can count on it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasBlomquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
111
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naxos Town, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Fiona and Dave Stafford cannot do enough for you and were very helpful with a 2.5 yr old, they recommend gd places to eat and helped arrange a babyditter. The garden is amazing and it is obvious this is Fiona's passion and the owls just outside Lavender Cottage front door amazing. the cottage is less cottage like and more a 2 bed house that could be anywhere int he world and needs a bit more character adding - the kitchen lounge is a bit stark - but then it is well fitted for a family of four with everything you need. Given the price compared to other places we stayed on hols this was the most expensive - whilst other places had roll top baths and showers - this had just a shower. So we wanted a bit of luxury however this place would scrore top notch in summer and for practicality. However you can provide a bit of luxury even for families. We had that whilst staying in similar places.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie_emma_reeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2011

beautiful luxury cottage and english garden in the winelands for perfect holiday break in the winelands

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodrigo171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We had a great time at Acara, nice and private cottages. Very childfriendly, nice pool to relax after a day of exploring the Cape or the Winelands. The owners are very friendly and helpfull.
Wonderful lush and well kept gardens, great to wake up in the morning with a cup of coffee and overlooking the Simonsberg.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaatje01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Homely and comfortable 2 bed/2 bath house annexed to the very friendly and helpful owners house (they do not face each other so privacy is no issue). Great kitchen and wonderful restaurants and vineyearsd nearby. Rural setting. 30 mins to Capetown airport and one hour to Capetown.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed in Willow tree cottage for 4 nights. It is perfect, quiet clean and comfortable. a quiet deck for breakfast and afternoon reading is wonderful.
They views are stunning. The two dogs are darlings...and we arent particularly dog people.
Fiona and Dave, are friendly but not intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble. After a busy wine touring and cape town holiday we stayed here to relax by the pool. it was idyllic. We felt like we were at home. Local restaurants were recommended and booked by Fiona and met, no exceeded, our expectation. Rust en vrede is great and 96 winery road (5 min walk) is brilliant.
We chose not to drive our own car. It suited us, but this place is remote and taxis are quite expensive.
Please do not even think about staying anywhere else....it will only lead to disappointment!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFussy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

For the person looking to explore the Stellenbosch and surrounding area, Acara is the perfect place to base yourself.

Located close to some of the top vineyards and restaurants in South Africa, it offers clean and comfortable accommodation.

The owners, Fiona and her husband, are fantastic hosts. I will definitely be returning to Acara for future visits.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,851 reviews
10.6 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 111 in Stellenbosch
218 reviews
4.4 mi away
De Zalze Lodge
De Zalze Lodge
#9 of 53 in Stellenbosch
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eikendal Lodge
Eikendal Lodge
#10 of 111 in Stellenbosch
288 reviews
5.3 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#12 of 111 in Stellenbosch
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
#33 of 111 in Stellenbosch
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acara

Property: Acara
Address: 24 Winery Road | Exactly 1.2km down Winery Road, nr Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Winelands, between Stellenbosch and Somerset West, Acara is nestled in a valley amidst scenic vineyards. A fantastic location for visiting the entire area - from Cape Town to Franschhoek & beyond, but yet peaceful and quiet. Beautifully appointed rooms, a sparkling heated swimming pool and large landscaped gardens. Amazing views to the Helderberg Mountains. A place to relax! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing