We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banghoek Place Hostel
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay!”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Unfortunately we could only stay one night but wish we could have stayed more! Didn't feel like a hostel, it is better than many hotels we've stayed in and half the price!! Staff are super friendly and the rooms are modern and stylish!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
50
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We only stayed here one night after a day of wine tasting. Although the room was decorated nicely...it was still cement floor and walls. The room was very cold and drafty. Our hot water didn't work and the staff allowed us to use another room's shower. The location isn't that convienant either. The upside is definitely the price!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelislifegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

This place is quite spacious and clean compared to the clutter and bohemian style of most hostels, has a big communal kitchen with all of the appliances in working order and a nice seating area near a fireplace with board games and a pool table.

The staff are a bit apathetic though, and the rooms are freezing cold although the ensuites are quite a cool design. It was very noisy with doors banging and people carrying on until quite late at night, the concrete floors and walls meant you could hear everything that went on all over the hostel and that became irritating, think they need to improve the insulation in the rooms for both sound and temperature. Also- install some heaters.

Was fairly good value since we had a car too and the location out of town didn't bother us but I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sandst0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I must be getting too old for hostels... the blaring music in the common area, the large groups taking over the seating areas and yelling at all hours of the night and morning to each other outside our room, the communal cooking area where people don't clean up after themselves, it gets to be a bit much. Still, the Banghoek Place Hostel seemed a bit more grown up in that it had a lot more character than your run of the mill hostel. The staff was caring and even grabbed me an extra blanket and kept the fire going strong in the main room. If you're looking for a affordable (350-400R) double ensuite, then you can't beat it. It was clean but very cold in the room- there was no insulation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillian646
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Since my boyfriend and I took the Bazbus through South Africa, we were limited in our choice of accommodation. After looking over all the hostels, we chose the Banghock because it seemed to have the best double en-suite rooms.

Our room was pretty nice, although the shower area could use a little bit of improvement. The communal kitchen area was convenient, and the staff was helpful with arranging the Bazbus and the wine tour (although I do not recommend using the “Easy Rider Wine Tour” company). You can receive discounts on the room and the wine tour if you stay two nights at Banghoek.

The only downfall to Banghoek is its location, which is quite a distance away to the restaurants and bars of Stellenbosch (about a 20 minute walk). I suppose if you want a real quiet environment then this would meet your needs!

Overall we were happy with our stay.. but if we ever go back to this beautiful wine region, we’d prefer to stay in the center of town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillian646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

I stayed here with a friend for one night - it's a nice hostel, basic but clean and friendly. The rooms are ensuite and the whole place is nicely decorated, with cute little outdoor areas where people eat, chat, relax, etc. It's all very laid back and felt very safe. The only drawback is that it's a little way out of town. It would be walkable I think (though a bit hot in summer!) but the roads are very quiet and it's not a particularly scenic walk either really. So I think you'd need a car - which is fine, as there's parking available at the hostel, although parking in Stellenbosch town in the evening was a bit of a nightmare.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 21October
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Northwest
Level Contributor
282 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

We only stayed at this little cozy place for 12 hours- we arrived at 5pm, and had to leave at 3am to catch a flight in Cape Town. But the place is very cute- concrete floors with animal skins, big comfy beds, ensuite baths, and a big pool out front. The only drawback is that you need a car- it's too far to walk to all the restaurants and shops of Stellenbosch. But inexpensive and comfy.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
6.2 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#32 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
#40 of 50 in Stellenbosch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banghoek Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banghoek Place Hostel

Property: Banghoek Place Hostel
Address: 193 Banghoek Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Banghoek Place Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing