We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely way to end the week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dornier Bodega

Dornier Bodega
Ranked #43 of 247 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Part of the Dornier Wine Estate, this is a great place to enjoy the best in life. Spend time with your family on the generous verandah and pair some great Stellenbosch wines with dishes from a creative seasonal menu.You can taste our wines at the table or at the Wine Lounge.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely way to end the week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We went for tapas and wine on a Friday afternoon after work. We enjoyed every bit that was presented to us. We loved the variety which catered for different tastes and preferences. The wine was lovely too. We thought it was good value for money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    113
    39
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely but seafood rather pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I was keen to eat here having last been almost 3 years ago. The setting is lovely. Amazing mountain views.

We arrived at the end of our day of wine tasting around 5.30pm (a Thursday) & with no reservation were seated on the terrace.

Between 3 of us we had.....a tapas selection, a platter of 10 langoustine, 2 cheese boards, a couple of bottles of wine, 3 double expresso & chocolate truffles

The tapas was as nice as I recalled & is excellent value for money. At this stage of the day the full a la carte menu is not available, only tapas & seafood.

The seafood is offered half price on Wednesdays, I can now see how they can afford to do that as the seafood is rather expensive.....much better value can be found even at the V&A Waterfront. In general I would stick to Wednesdays if eating seafood here as there are other places in the area serving equally good seafood at more attractive prices (eg Bodega, 10 langoustine R480, Millhouse Kitchen, 6 langoustine, 1 crayfish , mussels, squid & rosemary potatoes R380 )

Our waitress was lovely, very jolly & accommodating & most helpful with wine selection. A credit to the establishment (wish I could recall her name in case management read reviews!)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IRISHDRAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxed, family friendly restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice varied choices in their menu to cater for everyone. We received very efficient service, and the ambience was very relaxed. Good food, hearty portions, their wines are soft and easy to drink. The surroundings are tranquil and really pleasant. There is a jungle gym for kids, so very family orientated.

Helpful?
Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great tapas but best to go when the flies are not there!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We booked a table for friday night tapas, but we were the only diners, other than the flies. Sadly our meal was spoiled by masses of flies that turned up at the same time as our food! We had to ask for additional napkins so we could cover the food as we were eating it. Whilst we accept that this is perhaps out of the control of the restaurant, it would have been nice if some food covers had been made available.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestSussexFleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonVinToujours, General Manager at Dornier Bodega, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear WestSussexFleck
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Unfortunately this is a 'fly year' and the problem becomes accentuated during harvest by the ripe fruit and the heat on wind-still days. We have implemented many methods as a restaurant to control them better. Since your visit, we have ordered some Cintronella candles to place on the tables on days that are the worst.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food & wine in a tranquil surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We so enjoyed Bodega Restaurant, good food, and good wine!
We especially enjoyed the Sea Food platter, which consisted of an excellent variety of sea food, and was good value for money.
Some of the members of our group ordered the tapas, which were also enjoyed by all.
Service was good at all times.
We have many international visitors, and will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabethbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornier Bodega also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Dornier Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing