We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing Experience”
Review of Dornier Bodega

Dornier Bodega
Ranked #54 of 255 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $15 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Part of the Dornier Wine Estate, this is a great place to enjoy the best in life. Spend time with your family on the generous verandah and pair some great Stellenbosch wines with dishes from a creative seasonal menu.You can taste our wines at the table or at the Wine Lounge.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dissapointing Experience”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We went to Bodega as part of a birthday lunch and were just very let down by the experience. We were only presented with 2 course and 3 course meal options. (That were overpriced). We only wanted mains and upon asking were told we can choose any of the mains on the 2 or 3 course menu's individually. We then ordered some overpriced meals that were then served cold. Not just slightly cold.. Properly cold.
We then noticed menu's being carried around and upon asking were told we could have actually ordered from a regular menu, not just the 'specials'. Feel fairly cheated we paid R130 for a cold meal we would rather not have chosen had we actually been presented with a menu. Poor.

Anyway, maybe it was an off day here. But left feeling let down by staff, food and atmosphere.

Won't return in a hurry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    114
    39
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High expectations, very disappointed..”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived at the estate after hearing good reviews from friends, only to be very disappointed.. The wine was overpriced, the food came out cold as if from a fridge and the portions were tiny. What a waste of a great birthday, will definitely not be back! Coming from a 5 star hotel, I will definitely not recommend them to my guests..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BackpackerIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Setting, wine, food and service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Bodega for the first time a couple of weeks ago and were extremely happy with what we found there. We were greeted by a very friendly and professional lady who seated us at a lovely table overlooking the cellar and the mountains. A stunning view. She introduced our waiter who was excellent, very knowledgeable and helpful. We order calamari and a pizza style bread for starters and the fish with lovely rice and lamb neck for main. All delicious and well presented. We enjoyed a bottle of the flagship white as recommended by our waiter and enjoyed it very much. The wine lounge lady also let us try a couple of their other wines which we also enjoyed very much. The whole afternoon at Bodega was fantastic. We were well looked after by all the waiters and the managers who took time to tell about the farm and the cellar as well as making sure we had everything we needed. The food and wine were both excellent and the setting just beautiful. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KateA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's the valley, the view, the wine, the experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Treated by a great friend, we arrived at Bodega Restaurant for lunch. It is situated on the Dornier wine estate 5 km from the Stellenbosch Old Town.
The overall offering was stylish, professional yet warm and inviting.

The food was excellent. Between the two of us, our choices varied between soup and flamme kuche for starters and lamb and steak for mains.

The interior of the restaurant is colourful and modern, with a blazing fire in one corner.

The view onto the wine cellar, surrounding mountains and vineyards are breathtaking.

Wednesdays offer you 50% discount on the Seafood menu option - so run for it!

Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyinghennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant Relax Lunch”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is not the first time we visited "Donier" every time we go back to enjoy there good food and wine.Today we had a awesome waiter "Doxy" what a person he is a vibrant and just love the work he is doing. From the word go we were treated like royalty by him. Would go back to Donier for their excellent service and food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50heint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornier Bodega also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Dornier Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing