We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caledon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caledon Villa
Ranked #27 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Commugny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very quiet place, nice relaxing garden, unique desert roof garden, super breakfest and finally Johan's tipps how to organize our further trip were really helpful. You feel like a special guest there. Save parking, I highly recomend the place as a start point to wine trips.

Room Tip: Namibia room, quite big and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewa_gr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    52
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
73
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were thrilled to find that the entire house is a kind of museum! Each room is furnished with antique style furniture - we liked the old-fashioned atmosphere. Rooms were spacious and clean.
The staff are friendly and helpful, they organized a wine tasting tour for us (Hop-on, Hop-off – highly recommended!). Johan, the owner, is especially helpful and gives advice on where to stop and what to see. When we went to Betty’s Bay he recommended a place from where we had a stunning view on Gordon’s Bay and Table Mountain! Thank you, Johan!
The B&B is within walking distance from central Stellenbosch.
Breakfast was delicious and and served on the garden terrace, with beautiful view to the pool and the garden.
We also loved the roof terrace and the many cacti there! Amazing!
Secure car park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AA_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

A very warm welcome in Stellenbosch. Nice people who are interested in their guests. Johan knows a lot of extras in and around Stellenbosch. Relaxing garden with pool. Very clean. Shops and restaurants within walking distance, what we very much appreciate. Save parking. Recommendable place. German spoken.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingeborg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A quiet and central stay at Stellenbosch - a perfect place to be !
secure parking available, sunny garden and pool area, full breakfast
to enjoy in- or outside, johan always gives very special sightseeing-tipps :-)
We felt very confortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Caledon Villa was a lovely place just a few blocks away from the city centre. The staff was very nice and helpful. They had safe parking in the backyard. We stayed for three nights in a family room, which in fact were two rooms and a kitchenette. The ‘flat’ also had a fireplace, a safety box and an “honesty” bar. The breakfast was excellent. They had a beautiful garden, where you could relax in the comfortable sunbeds or take a swim in the clean pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0nele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lovely room, very clean. Great shower. Breakfast was served on the porch, as the weather was very nice. The guest house is located near the center of Stellenbosch, but in a quiet street.
Will definitely recommand this place - great value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SionaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have been there twice now and I strongly recommend it for travelers to Stellenbosch. The ambiance is wonderful, staff are extremely helpful and nice and the whole experience is not to be missed. I will certainly stay there again :)

Room Tip: Lower floor (Olive) room is wonderful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#45 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenues Guest Lodge
Avenues Guest Lodge
#24 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#30 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledon Villa

Property: Caledon Villa
Address: 7 Neethling Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledon Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a holiday rich in cultural exchange and personal care. Owners Johan and Ode share their passions for arts and culture. Experience a bygone era from this splendid Edwardian guest house, located in the historical centre of Stellenbosch. Comfortable rooms have TV with 10 selected channels, WiFi, fridge and tea tray. Hosts will assist with planning your holiday. Walk to restaurants, shops, sports facilities and university. Central to golf and wine estates and large pool and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Caledon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing