We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible owner”

Man'oushe Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible owner”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The music was so loud we couldn't hear each other talk without shouting.The owner point blankly refused to turn it down even a litle even though we asked nicely. We then waited 45 minutes to get a starter. At which point wedecided to Pay and not order main courses we left never to return. The food we had was very nice and other peoples stuff looked good too. But don't expect to see me again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulpermanent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    110
    35
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worse restaurant I have been to in South Africa.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have eaten in Lebanese restaurants worldwide but this one does NOT serve good, authentic Lebanese food. It is burnt, and badly cooked. The service is appalling; we waited 50 minutes for our starts, without even a plate of olives to keep us alive. The music blearing out in our ears whilst the fat, miserable, dirty looking chef(who owns it too)refused to turn it down.
The food came burnt and inedible. We decided to pay for the starts and go. Why patronise a restaurant like that? we asked each other. Apparently, the kitchens are dirty, well, I wouldn't be surprised, even the loos were nasty. In fact, it was a horrid, horrid experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmydogdog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“music overpowering”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Lovely restuarant , good food ------ but music too loud doesnt allow you to enjoy company and chat to each other .Not the place to go to if you want to be able to chat and enjoy your company

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Fantastic food, fresh ingredients, viby surroundings, will be back on my next visit to Stellenbosch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you ain't have nothing to say to each other anymore, go there...”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were "trying" to have dinner there with friends and - admittedly - were sitting under the loud speakers. Any attempt to tame the music was unsuccessful, because the boss wasn't around. They probably couldn't hear us away.

I can't say anything about the food, because the music was sooo loud that we finally left; we spent a very nice evening with fantastic Namibian steaks, Café de Paris sauce and nice wine just one block up the road on the left side.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Owala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man'oushe Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Man'oushe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing