We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent well located guest house with very hospitable owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Tree Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apple Tree Guest House
Ranked #6 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wass
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An excellent well located guest house with very hospitable owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Before this trip my wife, who is South African, said we must stay in guest houses as they are far more hospitable than large hotels, and with the Apple Tree Guest House she was absolutely right. Location wise it is an easy walk into the centre of Stellenbosch with its numerous restaurants. Our room was off the central pool area and was well decorated, clean and also was a decent size. The breakfast here was excellent with daily specials. We were particularly impressed with Noeline, the owner, who was very friendly and informative. This guest house was extremely good value for money and we would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    85
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
191
18
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We (two couples) had a two-night-stay at Apple Tree Guesthouse.
It is a great guesthoues and Michael and his team are very nice and helpful hosts. Michael gave us many hints for restaurants and things to do around Stellenbosch, he did the reservations as well. The whole guesthouse is tastefully furnished with many lovely details.
It is really a place to stay and next time we visit Stellenbosch we'll stay again at Apple Tree Guest House.
The pictures didn't promise too much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We arrived at midday after overnight flight and Noeline happily took us to our room. She offered to tell us about restaurants ,attractions etc.Although we have been to Stellenbosch a few times before , her advice was useful.Next day Michael persuaded us to visit Jonkershoek Nature Reserve.It might have been a success if we had 4x4 , not a little Picanto +husband skidded into a stream and sported bruises for the rest of holidays. You have been warned!
Either Noeline or Michael were always available to help,The staff were very kind and smiling, it is a well run and happy place. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is free wifi, decent speed of transmission. The elegant sitting room had a large collection of books as well as fridge with wine , beer etc.We did not have time to read books as the sun shone every day.

Room Tip: With entrance from courtyard?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Wonderful place to stay, ambience perfect, food first rate, staff helpful and friendly, hosts lovely helpful people......... make sure you make an "early" reservation for the Hussar Grill.... you won't be disappointed ..... you can take your own wine ... they don't charge corkage. The "Kerry Blue" has a character of his own.



Have a great trip.

Stevie & Susie

Room Tip: Room 1 is bigger and has jacuzzi bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Lovely accomodation set in peacefull surroundings. Within easy walking distance to town and very safe to walk about with no problems. Our host was extremely helpfull providing us with an excellent wine tour and a splendid restaurant called the Hussar Grill well worth a vist.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisonmartin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We found this guest house on trip advisor and we were so pleased when we arrived. Noleen and Michael could not have been more welcoming and their recommendations were very good and helpful. Our room was lovely and breakfasts were a treat - especially the specials - and cooked to perfection. The Guest house in within walking distance of the town (about 10 minutes) and it is very safe to walk to and from. Internet was complimentary and there was a well stocked honesty bar. We had such a good stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue657w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rovigo
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

nice room, we appreciate the big bath with a big hydromassage bath, so perfect after a long hard day all around vinery and elsewhere around! we have needed an help for a problem with the hertz car and the guy help us in a fantastic manner! we have had a good breakfast and the guesthouse isn't so far from the town centre, just 10 min walk, and in a safe area! we recommend this place for the right relation price-quality!!

Room Tip: rooms near the cute swimmingpool in the centre of the b&b is best, but it's not so important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarageppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 113 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
1.4 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#7 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Guest House

Property: Apple Tree Guest House
Address: 6 Paul Kruger Street | Dennesig, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apple Tree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree is a new modern 8 bedroom guest house, all rooms are en-suite with walk in showers and baths. Its a 10 minute walk to town centre or University, within a few minutes drive you can be at one of the many wine farms around. Apple tree is not just a place to stay, its an experience. All rooms got air conditioning, Flat screen TV with satellite, mini bar etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apple Tree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Guest House Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing