We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just awesome”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stopped by for a wine tasting and snack at Sansibar, both was great - wine tasting attendants very knowledgeable and helpful and same goes for the staff at Sansibar. Asara truly is a place that lives their "Always our pleasure" motto. The views are also gorgeous - over the lake and vineyards with the mountains in the background. It takes your breath away!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    171
    56
    34
    32
See reviews for
94
530
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The Asara staff went so above and beyond to accommodate us. Such service and kindness! Truly, wow! Great location too--dozens of little vineyards nearby. Breakfast and view were also fantastic. Definitely stay here. So pleasant in every way.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KMG414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room, amazing setting & fabulous staff to whom nothing was too much trouble. Great places to eat on site & lovely pool area for relaxing. Gorgeous setting overlooking Stellenbosch. When can I go back...?!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinemrutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This wine estate was excellent. It had everything we were looking for. The accommodation was top notch, the staff were friendly and accommodating, the food and wine selection was great and it was a good location. It is in the middle of wine country so there are many options for visiting other wineries, yet it is close enough to CapeTown to take in some of the interesting activities there - Robben Island, Boulder Beach, botanical garden, table mountain, etc.

It is large enough, with about 30 rooms to offer full service, but small enough that it is still very personal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This wine estate hotel is one of many in the Stellenbosch area. However it is set slightly removed from Stellenbosch and on a slight hill, which means you get great views over the plains to the mountains from the pool and the restaurant.

Rooms are well appointed; large and airy and the bathrooms have walk in showers and a large bath.

The service is a little slow at times, but staff are friendly and helpful.
They have a wine tasting on site and this is worth doing.

Stellenbosch is a short car ride away,and is an easy town to explore with lots of shops and restaurants

Room Tip: We had a room in the main hotel building with a balcony onto the inner courtyard. There are rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domtheirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I were on a packaged trip to Asara in March 2014.

The resort is truly a 5 star location with excellent staff, food, wine, facilities and location. We will be back

The only thing lacking was a fitness center, but it wasn't missed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a really good location for visiting the spectacular wine region in Stellenbosch. We stayed here early February and so glad we did. The rooms are contemporary spacious and spotlessly clean. The bathrooms similarly large and modern with every facility on hand. Our patio/terrace overlooked the vineyards and mountains in the distance which were amazing we especially liked the fact we had our own loungers and chilled out on them after a day touring the area.. The restaurant is quite beautifully decorated and the food excellent. Breakfast was a buffet with everything you would need to start your day, with cooked available should you so wish. There is a wine tasting room at the Asara where we enjoyed a complimentary glass or two of our favourite tipple. If you have time to swim there is a lovely pool area too. All in all it was perfect for our visit.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a room without a lovely view so I wouldn't worry about a particular r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLynsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.2 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Property: Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing