We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location and lovely service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and lovely service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful wine estate in lovely grounds. The rooms are bright and airey and the food is excellent. The White Can wine is to die for and the wine tasting in house is highly recommended. We would definitely go back as the location is perfect to visit other wineries.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AliJ2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    162
    53
    33
    31
See reviews for
90
516
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Driebergen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We spent two times three days at Asara in january and february 2014
A wonderfull scenery when you are dining in Raphael's on the terrasse while the sun sets and you see the mountains and hills.
Staff and personnel are trained very well
Next time in Africa we certainly will spend several days at Asara

Room Tip: Take a luxury room for more space and a wonderfull look over the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muizenberg, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We frequent this place for several reasons.The very competent staff,delicious eats and the amazing whiskey bar.we always end up staying the whole day,indulging in Asara's superb wines.the fact that someone complained about smoking is absurd,there is ample ventilation thanks to something called AIR,it's OUTSIDE! Love this place and I would recommend the gourmet burger trio,don't leave without trying the noble late harvest...liquid gold!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Beautifully located with superb views of the mountains and vines. Liquid amber trees a stunning feature of the entire estate. We chose to eat at the SANSIBAR restaurant for a light meal. Food was good and view over the adjacent dam was wonderful. However, estate management appear to be circumventing SA legislation by allowing smoking in this area. The restaurant is covered and could be described as 'pato', making it illegal to smoke, with appropriate stiff penalties for both smokers and management. Sadly, the smoke we suffered rather negated our overall experience. Mood brightened by delicious ice cream in the courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopard-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Beautiful surroundings to wake up to in the morning. Exelent breakfast in elegant environment . Employees as want the very best for you , very friendly and helpful. As my husband had difficulty to walk Simiso was there always waiting to drive him.
Isabelle a wonderful girl , she is realy the right girl for this place, very professional in every way. Beautiful room with wonderful beds
ASARA is very very good choice and next time we will stay much longer.

Room Tip: Think they are all great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berikaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

from the moment we arrived, our stay was pleasant. Simiso, one of the bell boys made sure we got hooked up; because it was our honeymoon, we got upgraded to the bell suite.

it was the most beautiful 3 story suite. the main floor which is the second floor is the bedroom with a balcony, the first floor is the tv room with a half bathroom and the third floor is the most beautiful and stunning bathroom ever. it has a jacuzzi and a two headed stand up shower. overall, beautiful and worth the stay

it was unfortunate that we couldnt enjoy the wine tasting because i got really sick and my husband took care of me the whole time. i think it was dinner from the night before at Raphaels. i was lucky the bed was comfortable and that there was air conditioner.

the staff was very polite and caring. they made sure i was feeling better. they offered tea and made me soup. during dinner the second night at the bar, he had their famous wine the white cab which is delicious the best wine ever tasted.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fanelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Decided to book into Asara on a spontaneous weekend getaway.
Arriving on a beautiful road that winds through vineyards and rolling green lawns you realize that the setting here is like none other. Arriving at the front door everything was taken care for us, our car and any baggage was swiftly taken away and we were immediately checked in by sincerely friendly staff.
I have on different occasions been checked into a 5 star hotels by friendly staff but none as sincerely friendly as at Asara. We found that the staff at Asara have a very positive can do attitude, from reception, to the Bistro to the restaurant, they were always pleasant to interact with.
Some points regarding our stay :
Location: Just outside Stellenbosch town, you'll need a scooter/bicycle/car to get around in and out of town, but Stellenbosch has an enormous wealth of activities.
Room: Large, clean and generally comfortable and has whatever you need.
View: We had room overlooking the vineyards and Stellenbosch mountains, you can't find anything more peaceful and relaxing with such a great view.
Restaurant: Meals are fantastic and of high quality, you do get what you pay for, almost no need to eat outside of the hotel other than just to explore the town.
Comfort: We found the beds to be very hard. It might be worth asking for softer beds if you are that way inclined.
WiFi: Unfortunately we this lacking, worked intermittently and not fast at all. Cellular data network also very sparse.
Service: Always friendly, always helpful. Staff seem to be quite proficient in many languages.
We had an excellent time - and will be returning for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.1 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Property: Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing