We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$127
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$143
$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$98
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$133
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$99
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$108
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$50
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveler rating
630
202
66
42
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
202
66
42
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgin barmise en placewhite cabbell towervineyard suitegin tastingoverlooking the lakecape towncourtyard roommacaroonswine estateour honeymoonstunning viewstasting roomsouth africastellenbosch mountainsattention to detail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 976 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We visited the Asara Estate for a Tour and Wine Tasting the Setting is Perfect.From the Professionally Manicured Estate to One off the Nicest Wine Tasting Rooms we've experienced in our Many Trips to the Region.Sampled many Great Wine's every tasting of a New Veridal was met with a Fresh Glass. First Class Service all the Way.Also Incredible Views of the Valley below and the Mountains.Must Stop.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Our recent stay at Asara was without doubt the highlight of a wonderful holiday in South Africa.
If you have reason to stay in Stellenbosch you really won't be disappointed if you choose Asara.

The moment we arrived, we were greeted with a glass of fine wine, our car was parked for us & our bags were wisked up to our excellently appointed courtyard room.

A sunset dinner on the restaurant terrace, by a lake overlooking the vineyard with the hills of Stellenbosch providing a stunning backdrop was purely magical.

Checkout was amazingly stress free, our car was ready with our bags loaded before I had even had a chance to ask reception for a bell boy to collect them!

First class customer service, well done Asara, I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful courtyard room with balcony
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racingmacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've read a few of the other reviews and whilst this is a good quality hotel its certainly not 5* when compared to others around the globe.
Nice location situated in the vinyards with great views across the land to mountains.
The hotel is reasonably equipped, small outdoor unheated pool,small bar area, good breakfast restaurant and a la carte.
I cant fault the value vs central Cape Town with both accomodation, food and drink all reasonably priced.
Bedrooms were clean and a good standard without wowing!
Wifi is poor and its impossible to stream anything or do Facetime.
Staff were all friendly and helpful although there were plenty at reception when maybe a few more pool and bar staff would help.
Overall a good experience but certainly not special

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverhouse95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and Asara was a surprise for my wife.
WOW, what a place. The pictures fall behind what really the place is. The staff is the best. The room was decorated all the nights with details, flowers, and surprises!. You have a restaurant with a great view and great food. They really made the surprise worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iggyxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Firstly the location is exquisite. This is key because it basically put it over the edge as excellent rather than very good.
The location is also very close to Stellenbosch but certainly you need a car to make the best use of it.
The food and prices are also good too, and the wine is also rather nice.
The rooms have DVD players in addition to tvs which is excellent also.
The laundry and room services are very good indeed as is the free valet parking
Overall its excellent but there are some downsides.

The downsides are that you do need a car to consider staying here, and there are also a few more insects inside than one would expect. Finally the service in general (with a few exceptions such as reception and valet) is okay but not excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews