We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for a very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Rio De Janeiro, Rj
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for a very good price”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very very beautifull hotel in the midle of the Stellenbosch vineyards with excellent facilities (restaurants, wine tour, bakery, little store, nice pool and others). Asara also has great wines. The breakfast is superb, the restaurants very good and extremely beautifull. The staff is excellent and the rooms fantastics.
I really reccomends this place, this country, this people and this wine.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms with views of the vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JozeCandido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    174
    56
    34
    32
See reviews for
94
533
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed there two days. The place is situated beautifully with mountain views and winefields and ponds etc. It is supposed to be a 5 star venue but the thing is that it not really is. Everything is ok and neat. Spacy rooms but it lacks atmosphere and attention. Service was very unpersonal and mechanic. We had a courtyard room. Everything was there and worked but we had no view at all. Nobody asked us if we would like an upgrade or how we liked the room. All busy with the information in their computers at the front desk. Great pool area but no atmosphere too. Its like being part of a play called ' The five star hotel sitcom' .
The restaurant was pretty big and served reasonable food. But it looked very magazine like with Chesterfield chairs that were too low for the table and so were the other chairs. I hate that!!!!!
Wifi didn't work properly most of the time so I would not go there again and spend my money at a place where you get more and more personal attention

Room Tip: Don't go for a courtyard room; no views. Did not see a fitness center or spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryannl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived at Asara early and left our luggage in storage before heading off to explore the Winelands! We arrive back a few hours later and a little tipsy to be informed that we'd been upgraded to the Bell Tower suite (apparently standard rooms were oversold and they upgrade those who book early). This suite was on 3 floors with bathroom (including jacuzzi) at the top in the Bell Tower. The room was amazing, service generally very good, restaurant was really good in our experience. We also had a go at their wine tasting which was also good, albeit we were very much left to our own devices. Grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Book early - you might get upgraded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We ended our trip to SA with a 2 night stay at Asara. Whilst the hotel was OK with a lovely location, it was not 5 star as billed, probably an average 4 star (being generous). The room was OK a deluxe room, although the air conditioning was not over useful. I agree with previous comments about the wine tasting experience, it was more of a sales pitch which costs you R50 per person. Food and service in Sansibar was good for lunch, but Raphaels was awful, I also had the risotto (as per previous review), not good. The duck and steak were terrible, The cheese board was a small piece of bland brie, and some cheddar ! This was our worst meal whilst in SA. The next night we went to Stellenbosch and ate at 'The Big Easy' - Very Good. The service was generally good, although what makes this rating a 3 is the general attitude of reception staff. One particular lady was very unhelpful about suggesting restaurants, after our awful meal in Raphaels. She suggested restaurants but then said 'oh but you'll not get in without a reservation as everywhere is busy, with a smirk on her face' - after staying at the One and Only in Cape Town, where the concierge could not do enough for us, this came as a bit of a shock ! The pool area was a bit dirty, and I was surprised that there were no showers poolside, this meant that you could see a layer of film on the pool, probably as a result of nobody showering before going into the pool, We had lunch by the pool and after 2 hours our plates had still not been cleared away, even though staff walked by several times. As most european flights do not leave until after 8pm, I was surprised was there were no shower facilities for late departing guests to freshen up in the late afternoon, nor do they offer late check out, the only option was to pay another nights accommodation , even though we were leaving at 5.30pm ! In brief the Hotel has a good location with exceptional views and most of the staff are friendly, The thing that lets this place down is the food (in Rapheals) and the Management, who do not seem to understand 'The art of the possible', it just seems a bit too hard for them ! There are lots of other places to stay around Stellenbosch, I would recommend checking them out before you book Asara. We will not stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 190728Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Asara for 1 night and the settin was absolutely wonderful. Rooms incredibly spacious and luxurious. We were however very dissapointed with the wine tasting (rushed and very basic) & by the food and service at Raphael restaurant (which was highly recomended to us). Risotto starter was served as porridge. It was replaced by a tomatoe soup, which was tinned soup boiled and couldnt be eaten for 10 mins. Service throughout was dissapointing. Unfortunately this dining experience was not what was expected at a 5 star, luxurious acccommodation resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dullstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a late lunch here, then decided to check into the hotel. The location is superb, The Sansibar bar is excellent, and the standard extremely high all round. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed, the bathrooms are well appointed and very spacious, and all finishes and fittings of a high standard. The service overall was very good, and the breakfast was excellent. Well worth a visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel itself is set in a stunning place with amazing views from the room as well as from the bar / restaurant. The front of house staff are efficient - but not warm.
What let's this hotel down is the lack of cohesive service in the restaurant, it's all a bit rushed, they don't seem to communicate with each other and we got the impression that they weren't happy. Very few smiles across the whole of the estate which is sad as this place could be "really" good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,794 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
580 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
378 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Property: Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing