We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luxury paradise”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Wow, what a place! Attention to detail seems to be everything here and the service and rooms are really, really great. This is the perfect hotel for if you want to escape and get away from it all. It's a little way out of Stellenbosch so a car is essential, although they can organise taxis for you. We originally booked a Courtyard room but were upgraded to the most wonderful Classic Delux Room with a view over the vineyards and the mountains - we even had a balcony which was just perfection. Our room was very, very large with a huge bathroom. Breakfast is served overlooking the lake / mountains and the pool has a similar view - totally priceless.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    171
    56
    34
    32
See reviews for
94
530
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very expensive for what you get, location quite a way out of town and agree with another review, staff are nice but management approach not friendly. Rooms are beautiful but the place needs some warmth. We did not dine at the restaurant as it was too quiet and too formal

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Asara Wine Estate and Hotel was the best surprise and most wonderful hotel highlight of our two week stay in South Africa. We stayed in the Vineyard Suite on the 25th of January and it was exceptionally comfortable and spacious. The tapas and wine tasting was hugely enjoyable and the dinner very special and romantic on the balcony overlooking the lake and the mountains. I would recommend this without hesitation to anyone for a relaxing way to unwind just a short way outside of Stellenbosch and Cape Town. The service we experienced could not be faulted. From our room it was a very short walk from the balcony down to the swimming pool, so may be this is the best room in the hotel. The bar near the restaurant was good too for a pre-dinner drink. Needless to say we bought some wine to take with us which was great value and of excellent quality (and now I am looking to see where I can buy it in England).

Room Tip: Vineyard Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnmorganpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Great views, very well appointed rooms, very comfortable, fantastic tasting facility and quality wine.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at Asara from 27 January to 30 January 2012. We were offered an upgrade on arrival - at no request. The room was gorgeous with amazing views. Bathroom also fantastic - size and with double shower and appealing decor. Enjoyed the wine tasting and tapas, the breakfast is average to good, sansibar (the more relaxed dining option is great - food and service is very good. I agree with other reviews that staff at Raphaels (main restaurant) need more training - breakfast orders went wrong unnecessarily. The pool area is very relaxed and also with stunning views. Michael at front desk is very professional and helpful. We were attending a wedding on another wine estate on the saturday - the hotel arranged a shuttle to take us and pick us up - which was a very nice touch. Yhe porters are also helpful - they are well trained and respect guest privacy.

The little Deli on the wine estate is also great - very cheap for what you get. Its also well positioned to visit the other wine estates and Stellebosch itself.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we are strongly consdiering to spend our wedding anniversary at the estate in September 2012.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 215 - rooms on that level appeared to us to have excellent views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yonititi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Asara in Stellenbosch. We absolutely loved the hotel, rooms, service, restaurants. At one point I asked something in the shop and the cashier told me - "Here everything is possible, and if it's not we'll make it possible." That drive to keep the customer happy is really obvious at the hotel and the restaurants.

I can't say enough about how nice the facilities are. Asara has an incredible view to their vinyards and the mountains in the distance. It is well located to easily do tastings in Stellenbosch. All rooms are in very good shape, spotlessly clean/ Try to get a deluxe room with a terrace overlooking the vineyards - you will really be able to see how special this place is.The pool is nice - well serviced and you can order wine/drinks/food from the pool. Hotel staff are incredibly helpful and take initiative to make your stay the very best possible. All the details are carefully managed, like a glass of Asara wine upon arrival, help in organizing any type of excursion, etc. The front desk was quick efficient, friendly, printed directions for me several times and called our hotel in Cape Town to let them know we would arrive early so the room would be ready.

The on-site restaurants have excellent service, very nice different menu options. The food is top notch and priced reasonably. There are very helpful and interesting people working at all the restaurants. It is excellent service without being pretentious.

The 2 nights at Asara were two of the best during our 2 week hotel. We absolutely loved it, and will definitely return. This is absolute luxury and beauty without pretentiousness.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Viaggiare

Helpful?
1 Thank Balloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We only stayed one night, our Anniversary on January 26th and could not have been happier! Upon arrival they upgraded us to the Vineyard Suite which was amazing! Restaurant and Wine and service was very good. Pool and grounds were beautiful. I hope to someday return and would recommend this estate to everyone. Truly a five star experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolhboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
4.2 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Property: Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing