We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stellenbosch
Post
Inbox
Search

“Underwhelmed”
Review of Fat Butcher

Fat Butcher
Ranked #5 of 337 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Description: As a consequence of our lacking antlers to sort matters out, man's competitive nature can lead to all manner of attempted besting between friends. One popular method is over a flame. Not by wrestling on a bonfire, but by doing your pal in the cooking of man's greatest culinary obsession: THE STEAK.
Restaurant details
Description: As a consequence of our lacking antlers to sort matters out, man's competitive nature can lead to all manner of attempted besting between friends. One popular method is over a flame. Not by wrestling on a bonfire, but by doing your pal in the cooking of man's greatest culinary obsession: THE STEAK.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a table at the Fat Butcher having been recommended it by a local some months back and my husband was excited for a decent steak but sadly the meal didn't live up to expectations.

We were shown to our table and introduced to our waitress for the evening who was friendly but she didn't have a great understanding of the menu. My husband asked how long the ribs were cooked for, to which she answered 20 minutes. Not quite the answer he was expecting!

Our staters were a mixed bag. The squid was excellent but the mayo didn't taste lemony as described in the menu. The snails on the otherheand were essentially just cream and we really didn't enjoy it. My BBR burger was dissapointing. I asked for it without bacon and to be medium rare. It came with bacon and rare and the cheese hadn't melted at all. Needless to say I didn't enjoy it or finish it. My husband's steak (côte de bœuf) he said was OK but nothing special. We'll stick to our regular place when in Cape Town. A massive shame!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank H75travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager693, Guest Relations Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear H75travel,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We appreciate your feedback if you will kindly send us a email to manager@fatbutcher.co.za we would like to get into contact with you personally.

Kind regards,
The Fat Butcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The gem in the heart of Stellenbosch this was utterly fantastic. Brilliant staff, chilled atmosphere and incredible food. Our last night in the region and one worth waiting for. For UK visitors this is fantastic value for money so don’t get put off by this place being in the top 5. It’s number one on cost and quality.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank sarat94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager693, Guest Relations Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sarat94,

We truly appreciate your kind words and hope that you will join us again for some more really good food and great wine.

Kind regards,
The Fat Butcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this restaurant for dinner, while staying in Stellenbosch. You can book a table by giving them a call, which is recommended as the restaurant gets really busy. The restaurant's atmosphere is pleasant, and the service was good. We ordered 2 steaks and a bottle of wine, and had a good dinner. Steak was nicely cooked and tasty. Prices were overall reasonable given the reputation of the restaurant as an amazing place to eat meat. Would return and recommend.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EricNJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager693, Guest Relations Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear EricNJulia,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will join us again soon!

Kind regards,
The Fat Butcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic!!!
Best Steak in South Africa, all it’s really good and the atmosphere it’s really nice too.
Make a reservation, best way!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank laerciocf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager693, Guest Relations Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear laerciocf,

Thank you for the kind words, you are a 5 star guest.

Kind regards,
The Fat Butcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having just flown in from London and not days before had a shocking steak experience at Hawksmoor for a mear £170 for two people (one glass of red wine) I needed to be cheered up and faith restored. Well it was by FB, the amazing staff and food that is off the scale. You could easily just have the sides from parmesan mash to the wonderful goats cheese and spinach. The steak is something else and the knowledge of the staff staff is spot on and adds to the incredible experience. So glad we ate here and got an experience that will be spoken about for years to come. Thanks Fat Butcher and all that made it. Ps the Lemon posset desert is pretty decent but then ask the staff the views on the final dish and everyone of them will have a fav.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank tea_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager693, Guest Relations Manager at Fat Butcher, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear tea_please,

Thank you for the kind words. We hope that you will join us again really soon for some more good food and great wine.

Kind regards,
The Fat Butcher team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Butcher also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Fat Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing