We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome abroad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The WedgeView Country House & Spa is a wonderful and chill guesthouse near Stellenbosch.

The rooms and views are wonderful and especially the staff makes you feel very welcome and their warmth makes you feel like home.

This place is a good start for nice trips in the Stellenbosch area with nice wineries and beautiful views.

The staff gave us during our stay a lot of tips and even made restaurant reservations for us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for WedgeView Country House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 527 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2009

I already had my girlfriend visit the spa as a surprise as she was studying at Stellenbosch university and after her feedback i definetly had to stay there.
Wedgeview was my first stop in Africa, I was pleasantly surprised when i drove through the vineyards towards a paradise in the mids.
The service is excellent, the staff well informed and helpfull, the rooms will take your breath away a second time after the surroundings allready did.The spa is a definite must have done.If you come to stellenbosch do stay here!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafterNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

This was the perfect setting for a quiet weekend away in the country. So quiet and peaceful surrounded by vineyards yet only a short drive to the vibey town of Stellenbosche.

The service was impeccable at all times. Very friendly and so attentive. We were especially touched by the warm gestures of hospitality that made getting engaged at Wedgeview and unforgettable experiance!

The rooms were big and well decorated with beautiful views and a lovely porch to sit and have breakfast or coffee.

The SPA is small but cozy. The treatments were fantastic. The ONLY thing I would change is that I would have liked some slippers as it was winter and the tiled floors were very cold! Other than that, it was a superb and luxurious morning!

Many thanks to all who made the weekend so special. I would recommend this hotel to anyone local or foreign for an unforgettable experiance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

The WedgeView was beautiful and serene. It was conveniently located near everything you could want to do in the wine region and also very convenient to the airport. The staff were gracious and very accomodating to all of our needs. The grounds are beautiful and large for children to romp around on and securly fenced in. We felt very pampered there and loved meeting the owners Dave and Anouk who checked in on us every day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horsewomen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Wedgeview is a beautiful Country House with excellent views and accomodation. During our stay we found the staff very attentive and helpful. We would thoroughly recommend it as a place to stay for value for money and the surrounding area.

It is also situated within easy access to Cape Town and Stellenbosch and all there attractions.

We will definitely return on our next adventure to Cape Town,

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasualTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

We were originally meant to stay in the centre of Stellenbosch but we changed to stay at Wedgeview as there was building work going on. It is slightly out of Stellenbosch, Cape Town side - probably further than we thought and the road leading up to it is filled with potholes. Having said that it's in a very pretty valley location with view of rolling fields, hills and vines. I think it was good to stay in such a stunning, rural area rather than in town as we could visit town during the day which we did.

We were able to go to our room immediately in spite of arriving at 10am. The room had a thatched roof and was pleasant to stay in. There was a double shower and a bath in the bathroom. It looked a lovely bathroom but the showers could do with more power.

Breakfast was lovely and probably the best we had on this trip although it is a close fought contest as we had some great breakfasts. What clinched it for Wedgeview was the yoghurt, strawberry and granola combination in a glass. We also liked the honesty bar in the lounge. Also the staff were very helpful as we requested a light supper after a day of wine tasting as we knew we wouldn't be able to eat much and more importantly wouldn't be able to drive anywhere to find food and they prepared a cheese plate and large Greek salad which was perfect.

The spa is a lovely place too. I had a manicure and pedicure there and the treatments were well done. There are 2 outdoor pools, one heated and one not and loungers dotted throughout the grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fondofgoodtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuqui4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,871 reviews
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
885 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
621 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#16 of 113 in Stellenbosch
230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $99 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing