We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #15 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Highly recommended. Very attentive and helpful staff. Karil welcomed us with glass of champage and gave us friendly tour. Generous breakfast. And, they have a small fitness center with the best view from an exercise bike. There is a spa and although i did not book any treatments - all very reasonably priced. The steam and sauna were great after the workout. Wish we could had stayed longer. Allie was particularly helpful in offering advice and trying to book dinner reservations. But, all interactions with staff were lovely.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 9 which was upstairs and had a balcony with beautiful view. large, gorgeous batht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    78
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
113
286
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the WedgeView Country House & Spa. The hospitality shown by everyone was exceptional. The breakfast was scrumptious and view breathtaking. It was a great experience and would definitely consider doing it again.

Keep up the Great Service!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with cosy luxurious rooms. The staff are friendly and super helpful in organising trips to the wine houses and drives into town and the spa staff were very flexible in working around changed itineraries. The spa treatments were great value, beautifully delivered and perfect after a day of exhausting wine tasting! Would happily recommend this place to anyone who wants a bit of quiet comfort in the winelands in boutique style luxury. Thank you to all of the staff for a superb stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kambo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We visited Wedgeview Country House & Spa in April 2014. This is truly a beautiful establishment, with excellent scenery, beautiful and clean rooms, friendly and attentive staff and a very professional and luxurious spa! I personally recommend this place for a 'get-away' either for couples and/or business people who just want to relax. The views are stunning, and the place is close to Stellenbosch, not to mention all the wine farms/restaurants etc!
Overall, definitely recommend!

If I would have to "flaw" it, I would say the driveway is a bit close to the room we had - cars get a bit loud (but this is normal in most places). Also, when making the booking, guests should be advised to bring their Mosquito repellents!!! We luckily had one with, but we are from Namibia, and don't travel without it. If you don't know about this, you could be in for a sleepless night! So this should be pout ion the website and/or provided in the rooms. (They had electric repellents, but they are not very effective)

But again, you will not be disappointed at this spot! Definitely worth it!!

Room Tip: A room with a view! (Upstairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The rooms are beautifully decorated. Comfortable and stylish. Delicious breakfast served in the garden, which could be attended to with more care, but apart from that, everything was lovely.

Our room's water was cold and we had to be moved to a different room, which threw our dinner plans off a bit as we were unable to get ready, but in the end all worked out well as we were upgraded to an executive suite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolande P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Thank you for a really delightful day and evening at WedgeView. What a delightful hotel with the added luxurious bonus of the spa. Both myself and my two adult daughters enjoyed a fabulously relaxing spa treatment - the facial and massage were incredibly relaxing and a real tonic and we all were very pleased with the pedicures - very lovely staff in the spa so thankyou for a brilliant experience. Our hotel room (2) was perfect although I struggled to get the TV to work. The wine was delicious and it was wonderful to have a full working fridge accessible too. The location is so beautiful and peaceful and I enjoyed wandering around the well stocked garden. Dinner in the evening was very generous - HUGE portions and a fresh tuna seared steak that was wolfed down by my two daughters. Delicious ice creams - again generous portions thank you. The girls loved the pool area and we all wish we could have stayed longer but we were on an itinerary and had places to see. Would love to come back one day for a special occasion. Perfect place for a large family gathering. Breakfast was delicious, thank you to all who made our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: I think I would have loved to have been upstairs, above Room 2 just to get that slightly better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent facilities! Stay at Wedge View was enjoyed by all members in our party. Van Weelde suite an experience! The place speaks of quality. Staff friendly and well trained. Can recommend it a s a weekend getaway or as a great venue for a corporate think tank

Room Tip: Van Weelde suite for luxury and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
5.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Property: WedgeView Country House & Spa
Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing