We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, elegant guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #13 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, elegant guesthouse”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Wedgeview is simply stunning! The attention to detail and service are excellent. The onsite spa is a must if you have time. It is situated about a 10 minute drive from the centre of Stellenbosch, but there is an on site driver to take you and collect you if you don't want to drive (at a charge). We were in the new part of the house and our room was fabulous. Breakfast out in the garden was very good, a choice of fresh fruits, pastries and anything you would like cooked! We highly recommend this stylish guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    78
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
116
288
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at Wedgeview only 1 night but I know we will want to return for a much longer stay. We were on a long trip and could afford to spend only 1 night in Stellenbosch and chose Wedgeview.

The location is nice, the layout of the property is great and the rooms are splendid. Breakfast was wonderful too and the service was good as well. The rooms are so well laid out and even the bathrooms are super.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed for one night on our way along the Garden Route. Could not fault anything during our stay, so can't understand negative reviews. Very well looked after by helpful and courteous staff and would highly recommend. The breakfast was perfect, made all the better by the company of the two resident ducks. Will hopefully be back and for longer next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 - total perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Wedgeview is our latest and best discovery of th Western Cape. Great hospitality from the moment we arrived till our departure. We enjoyed the lovely garden and the pool so much, that we didn't want to leave the premises for daytrips.
Special mention for the breakfast. It was the best ever.. Great job Dave & Anouk and your excellent team! We will be back.
Emily

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed 4 days at this fantastic guesthouse. The rooms are comfortable and have pretty much everything you can ask for. The look of the rooms is a little classic, but it fits the scenery. The view is amazing and especially from the rooms in front of the building you step right into the nice garden. Staff is very friendly & Helpfull and I can recommend this to anyone going to Stellenbosch.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArdieVanBeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

what's good about this place:
-friendly staff, trying their best
-great rooms with great bathrooms, airco and everything you need
-we ate very well in the restaurant in the evening
what's not so good:
-inexperienced staff; we heard the owners were not present which seemed strange in high season; place needs more supervision of the young and inexperienced staff
-several small hickups that should not happen; e.g. no toilet paper and hand towels on several occasions in the restaurant toilet; not toilet paper in the pool toilet; dirty towels hanging around at the pool and not being taken away; infrequent drinks service at the pool; pool table present was in terrible condition and only queue usable; get your act together; five star is all in the detail!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked WedgeView on the basis of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we are so glad we did because it met all our expectations.

Room no. 7 on the first floor has a lovely view of the vineyards and mountains in the background. We didn't get to use the terrace because the weather wasn't great during our stay, which was a shame because a crisp glass of white with that view on a warm summer evening would have been perfect. The bathroom was beautifully designed and presented. On checking in there was a slight problem because the previous guest had taken the safe key and terrace key - but the staff got it sorted out and replaced by the next day which was very impressive and shows their commitment to customer service.

The staff were fantastic. Prior to checking in we'd emailed them to help with restaurant reservations and told them what kind of food we liked. They made perfect choices for us. They also helped with booking tours for us. Ali in particular was wonderful. They seem to use the same chap for taxiing people around, a guy called Yusuf. We had such a good time with him - he was so eager to talk about his country which he loves, and answer any questions we had. He also took us on a township tour which was one of the highlights of our holiday.

The breakfast was also excellent. A great choice of fruit and the cooked breakfast was of a very high quality. Particular mention goes to the croissants - we weren't sure if they were made in house or bought in, but they tasted like they had come from a top Parisian patisserie.

Despite the bad weather we got to sit by the pool for a sunny afternoon which was very relaxing. The staff come round every so often to get us drinks which all added to a nice experience.

We couldn't think of a better place to stay in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTravelFurther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
5.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Property: WedgeView Country House & Spa
Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing