We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #14 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“4 day stay”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed 4 days at this fantastic guesthouse. The rooms are comfortable and have pretty much everything you can ask for. The look of the rooms is a little classic, but it fits the scenery. The view is amazing and especially from the rooms in front of the building you step right into the nice garden. Staff is very friendly & Helpfull and I can recommend this to anyone going to Stellenbosch.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArdieVanBeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    78
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
117
290
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

what's good about this place:
-friendly staff, trying their best
-great rooms with great bathrooms, airco and everything you need
-we ate very well in the restaurant in the evening
what's not so good:
-inexperienced staff; we heard the owners were not present which seemed strange in high season; place needs more supervision of the young and inexperienced staff
-several small hickups that should not happen; e.g. no toilet paper and hand towels on several occasions in the restaurant toilet; not toilet paper in the pool toilet; dirty towels hanging around at the pool and not being taken away; infrequent drinks service at the pool; pool table present was in terrible condition and only queue usable; get your act together; five star is all in the detail!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked WedgeView on the basis of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we are so glad we did because it met all our expectations.

Room no. 7 on the first floor has a lovely view of the vineyards and mountains in the background. We didn't get to use the terrace because the weather wasn't great during our stay, which was a shame because a crisp glass of white with that view on a warm summer evening would have been perfect. The bathroom was beautifully designed and presented. On checking in there was a slight problem because the previous guest had taken the safe key and terrace key - but the staff got it sorted out and replaced by the next day which was very impressive and shows their commitment to customer service.

The staff were fantastic. Prior to checking in we'd emailed them to help with restaurant reservations and told them what kind of food we liked. They made perfect choices for us. They also helped with booking tours for us. Ali in particular was wonderful. They seem to use the same chap for taxiing people around, a guy called Yusuf. We had such a good time with him - he was so eager to talk about his country which he loves, and answer any questions we had. He also took us on a township tour which was one of the highlights of our holiday.

The breakfast was also excellent. A great choice of fruit and the cooked breakfast was of a very high quality. Particular mention goes to the croissants - we weren't sure if they were made in house or bought in, but they tasted like they had come from a top Parisian patisserie.

Despite the bad weather we got to sit by the pool for a sunny afternoon which was very relaxing. The staff come round every so often to get us drinks which all added to a nice experience.

We couldn't think of a better place to stay in Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTravelFurther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schilde, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed with our 3 children for 6 days at Wedgeview, perfect location to explore Stellenbosch, Franschhoek, Cape Town and Table Mountain.
Our children enjoyed the beautifull pool. We loved the 2 connected bedrooms with bathrooms.
Very friendly staff with a personal touch as a family owned country house should be.
Wedgeview organised our entire trip trough South Africa as this was our first, but not last, stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Creake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived on December 27 and stayed for 8 nights. I wish it had been longer as Wedgeview and all the staff are superb. We were immediately made to feel relaxed and welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble... Directions to wine farms, restaurants, Cape Town etc etc. our rooms were always clean and comfortable and the laundry came back within the day which was fantastic. The whole team put on a great James Bond themed New Years Eve party with delicious food and drink and it seemed that everyone enjoyed this. All in all we had a wonderful time thanks to a wonderful place to stay, fantastic weather and great service. I have to mention Ali in particular who was exceptional and always knew what we wanted even before we did...particularly my breakfast. By the way, have you put Nick's special breakfast on the menu yet?!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My sister and our 2 sons aged 11 & 18 spent 2 nights here. We recieved a warm welcome from the staff. The property is set in the midst of vineyards, with spectacular views of the mountains & surrounding vineyards. We were shown into our rooms (a suite with a separate room for the boys to share) beautifully decorated, and leading to a family room where a fireplace made it feel so warm and homey in the cold weather.
The breakfast was amazing, lots of variety, including health fruits and yogurt. We treated ourselves to a spa; the staff there was really friendly as well. In the evening, they helped book us a table in town at Ernie Els' restaurant.
We had initially booked to stay just for a night and ended up staying for an extra one. We would have loved to stay longer though. My 11 year old son actually begged to be allowed to stay and work there...

Would love to come back in the summer; cannot imagine how beautiful the place is then. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: For families, would recommend the Garden Family Suite - with an en-suite bathroom and access to a so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Beautifully set amongst the vineyards along a little gravel road. The grounds have a nice pool and gardens. It can be a little tricky to find.
Upon arrival we were nicely welcomed, but the receptionist forgot us in the garden as she asked us to fill in the registration card and went back to her office. Overall, the staff seemed inexperienced and lacking interest in looking after the guests.
The rooms are clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was a little disorganized and was average.
… based on other reviews, we might have been unlucky.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the 1st floor, rather than the ground floor. A new wing was built whilst we stayed… mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,794 reviews
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
580 reviews
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Property: WedgeView Country House & Spa
Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing