We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WedgeView Country House & Spa
Ranked #14 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nothing was too much trouble, the room was superb as a family it was great to be a little way out of town but so easy to get there. The most amazing view and facilities there was no need to go anywhere else, the food was superb and it was great value for money. It is not a case of if but when we will go back the sooner the better. Thank you so much the Green Family all 4 of us.

Room Tip: Just ask for the space that you need
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for WedgeView Country House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 529 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

Dave and his staff always welcome you to their 5 * Country House as if it was their home. You immediately feel relaxed as you drive down to the house through the vineyards. The rooms are very well decorated and have everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The beds are amazing as are the pillows, so often places let themselves down in this area. We have stayed here on several occasions with overseas guests and they all cannot stop raving about how much they enjoyed their stay there. It also has extremely good conference facilities which my husband has used for his regional team meetings. The spa staff are very warm and friendly and well trained, and they ensure that you have a fab spa experience. I would recommend a stay at the country house be it for one night or several you will not forget the experience :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room which is bigger and has 2 bedrooms, one which has a lounge attached and...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We needed a break from JHB and time to refocus on our business direction. Each day we had a treatment at the spar - what a treat. The breakfasts were amazing, set amongst the CT mountains. We would recommend the stay. Well worth it.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

stunning setting and great set up, beautiful full length pool with plenty of loungers, great food and wine, really spacious room. Staff extremely helpful. loved it so much we went back for our last night. spa treatments superb.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Wonderful hotel! Beautiful surroundings, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast, very nice and helpful staff and great hosts.
You immediately feel welcomed. Enjoy a light lunch at the Lapa near the pool or have a relaxing massage at the Spa. Only a 10 minute drive from Stellenbosch's city centre.
It is absolutely a "home away from home"!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This really is a lovely place to stay for a few days while exploring the countryside and mountains around Stellenbosch. We punctuated our touring holiday with 5 nights here and loved every minute. The house and gardens are beautiful, the situation stunning and the staff friendly and very efficient.
Our room was huge and very comfortable with a great modern bathroom.
The new swimming pool is stunning and big enough to really get some exercise after all the delicious food and wine which is readily available through out this region.
On our first night a BBQ was provided with delicious food and a chance to meet other guests. This was really useful as we could compare notes on where to eat out etc.
We would recommend WedgeView unconditionally and would love to return some day

Cathie and Geoff Sussex UK
.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathieSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

A perfect place from where to explore Stellenbosch and the Winelands! Ideally situated outside of Stellenbosch, on the top of a hill, overlooking the Stellenbosch mountains and the vineyards, WedgeView is great in all aspects: very comfortable rooms, excellent and personal service, great breakfast, good food at the table d'hote. Love their large pool and spa. Can't think of anything they could improve!

Room Tip: I've seen two rooms, on different sides of the property, both great.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveBakker, Owner at WedgeView Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Dear Mark,
thanks for your very nice review. We do hope to see you back again soon. Maybe at the end of your SA trip?
Kind regards,

Dave & The WedgeView Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,874 reviews
5.2 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#18 of 113 in Stellenbosch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $99 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing