We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
5 Seasons Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unreliable”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were 6 persons and stayed for 3 nights : bedrooms ok, parking ok, breakfast ok. But the last day when we checked out, I forgot my medicinbag (with jewels in it). I called them and they said that they would look after it. The next morning I went back to catch my stuff and then all of a sudden there was nobody who could help me. The manager said that she checked personnaly every day the rooms of which people had left and she did not find my bag. So I was very disappointed because I knew I left my bag there; I will never ever stay there again, because they are not honest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 953bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
50
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent the weekend in Stellenbosch to try wines and good food. We chose the 5 season for being both in the city but away from the restaurant/crowd mess (10 blocks away from the city center).Comfortable rooms with big bathrooms, private parking lot (free of charge) cumplimentary internet and EXCELLENT breakfast. Chef Rochélle prepared our omelets and croissant-sandwiches with loving care and attention to each guest requests.
Elegant and charming, this guest house is a home away from home. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A truelly luxurious and comfortable stay. Thank you for your hospitality.
Lovely pool area. Safe and beautiful surrounds for an early morning run, at the foot of the mountains and past horse paddocks. Breakfast was good and staff very pleasant. Sherry, tea and coffee in the kitchenette and a lovely little private pation to read the paper and enjoy a cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Brak River, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I read a few reviews on Tripadvisor about the place and I became interested. So when there was a chance to visit Stellenbosch I decided to stay there.

I was not disappointed. The place was ideal for my needs since I did not want to stay near where all the student activity is taking place. I was a student myself at Stellenbosch and I know what we were capable of at that time. The peacefulness of the neighbourhood thus suited me fine. The receptionist was professional and quickly showed us our room. The room was neat and had everything you need. It was close to the swimming pool but the weather was to cold to make use of it.

Breakfast was ready on time the next morning and was tastefully prepared. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuscany987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at this fabulous guesthouse. We arrived late after a long drive and getting somewhat lost while trying to find the place. (Stellenbosch should invest in better street signs) The hostess brought us a tray and went out of her way to get us settled. The sherry in the room helped too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxnmeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my second stay in the 5 Seasons in Stellenbosch - I stayed for 4 nights in November last year and two nights this week - both were business trips. The accommodation is luxurious and attention to detail is impressive. I was in a spacious upstairs room last time and in the gorgeous Honeymoon suite this time (alone, alas!) The house is quiet, being just outside of the main restaurant and hotel centre of Stellenbosch but still within walking distance (or very short drive) of all the coffee shops etc that make up this lovely Cape Dutch university town. There is a pool at the back surrounded by trees. This bed and breakfast is highly recommended on all counts but for me the stand out feature is the breakfast. From individual fruit salads and fresh breads and muffins through to interesting and different daily hot breakfasts, the food is all delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiouxMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed two night in this guesthouse. Rooms are big and clean, the of our room bathroom is huge. At breakfast - which was served outside in the garden - you have a choice of two hot options (e.g. omelet) and a continental buffet breakfast. On arrival you get a key for the front gate (which opens automatically so you can coveniently open ist from inside your car), there is no recepionist at night. There also is a nice little pool. I would stay there again although guests have to be aware that it is not located in the center of Stellenbosch but a 5 minutes drive away in a quiet residential neighborhood. But you'll get a good night's sleep in return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Iwouldrathertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.4 mi away
Hazelwood House
Hazelwood House
#47 of 112 in Stellenbosch
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eikelower Guest House
Eikelower Guest House
#66 of 112 in Stellenbosch
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
House of House Guest House
House of House Guest House
#88 of 112 in Stellenbosch
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#5 of 112 in Stellenbosch
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avenues Guest Lodge
Avenues Guest Lodge
#21 of 112 in Stellenbosch
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Seasons Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Seasons Guesthouse

Property: 5 Seasons Guesthouse
Address: 60 Van Der Stel Street | Mostersdrift, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 5 Seasons Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 5 SEASONS guesthouse, your stylish B&B in the heart of Stellenbosch, South Africa. Staying with us will make you instantly feel at home, for many different reasons. The 5 SEASONS is the ideal base to discover the breathtaking surroundings of the Western Cape - a paradise for all four seasons, and especially for the fifth - your holidays. After a wonderful day you will come back to your elegant suite, where comfort and our attentive service awaits you. From the first day, the 5 SEASONS will be your home away from home. Our house lies very quiet in a Jacaranda tree-lined back road, only five minutes drive away from the town center. You can choose from seven individual suites and a charming cottage, all with blooming garden and refreshing pool. You will reside in style, enjoy the charming decor in warm earth tones as well as the treasured accessories and you can relax in your cozy bathroom with luxurious skin products. A short-term appointment in one of the famous Spas nearby? Fresh flowers in your room? No problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your 5 Seasons Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing