We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rozendal Guest Farm
Ranked #17 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked our one-night stay at Rozendal Auberge before reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. I quickly checked them before we left for Stellenbosch and was very concerned after reading the last review & even considered not going. But as I had paid for the 2 rooms up front, I decided to go anyway. And, boy, am I glad I did. What a wonderful place! We had lovely rooms looking out over the mountains with windows on two sides - which kept the room beautifully cool. The decor was lovely and the warmth of the welcome was sincere. In the afternoon we used the pool and were brought tea to enjoy while we swam and sunbathed. In the evening family joined us for dinner and we were served a delicious 3-course meal, prepared by Precious, with excellent wine to accompany it. We were given a table out on the verandah and enjoyed the balmy evening. Joseph took wonderful care of us and his delightful sense of humour added a special sparkle to our stay. The breakfast the next morning was scrumptious. I highly recommend the Auberge Rozendal. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Rozendal Guest Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 228 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Whilst it is almost seven years since I stayed at Auberge Rozendal, it was by far my favourite place to stay in South Africa and I think of it often and would love to return. The stay was unplanned but happened as a result of being 'rescued' from a horrible over commercial, uncaring Hotel down the coast.

There was very much a family feel about it we felt very welcome indeed. All the staff were so welcoming and you felt that they enjoyed their jobs and were treated well. The rooms were just lovely and the organic dining out of this world. I can't wait to return

Room Tip: We were upgraded to two suites without even asking .. The rooms were available and they thougthr we...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublin370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed here for four nights - we were very comfortable in our room and the hotel/farm grounds are beautiful. We ate in the hotel restaurant a few times and thoroughtly enjoyed the food and Joseph's tales of Nelson Mandela ! breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The working (!) farm, the recection and sitting area, the nice restaurant and the rooms, located in a short walking distance from the main house in kind of a pittoresque alley, may be a bit older already, but everything is very clean, well kept and lovely decorated. There is everything you need in the large and cozy, relatively few rooms from some of which you have a beautiful view to Capetown's famous Table Mountain about 25 km away. Joerg and Karen, the very nice German speaking couple running the place, are very helpful in planning tours and giving suggestions. And the center of beautiful town of Stellenbosch is still in walking distance, though it might be better and easier to drive. All in all Auberge Rozendal Winefarm Guest House can't be recommended more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteHunterFranconia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a charming farm/hotel tucked away from the crowds with magnificent views of Table Mountain from the private patio of most of the rooms. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The evening meal (Saturday) was a surprise and delight, beautifully prepared, presented and as good to eat.
The room was well appointed but lacked a TV which some may miss and the soundproofing was a bit lacking. Apart from those small observations was a great place to stay.
Did I mention the fantastic balsamic vinegars?

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Table Mountain and a corner room
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debincapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had the most lovely evening at Rozendal in October. The service was exceptional and Joe the main waiter is such a character, he made it such fun for us. We had a small baby with us and the staff went out of thier way to be accommodating. The rooms were very nicely furnished and comfortable. Definately try the vinegars they produce, they are delicious. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We´ve spent 3 days in rozendaal and enjoyed the very friendly service, the delicious dinner´s and excellent wines ( ask for the port !! ).
If one is interested in a very worthy township-tour, ask joseph ( the " mädchen für alles ") to guide you !!! You dont have to pay for the tour but Joseph will enter a supermarket with your group and will buy usefull gifts for the people as toothbrushes, toothpaste and fruits ( NO SWEETS !! ). Our Children ( 10 / 15/17 ) where very very impressed !!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
888 reviews
2.3 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
1.7 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#2 of 55 in Stellenbosch
498 reviews
2.8 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rozendal Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rozendal Guest Farm

Address: Omega Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $123 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rozendal Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Rozendal is a unique discovery amidst the beauty of the Cape Winelands Situated on an organic farm against the forested mountain slopes of the Jonkershoek Valley, on the outskirts of Stellenbosch, Auberge Rozendal provides the convenience of a bustling university town just a stone's throw away, yet offers guests the peace and quiet of farm living. The accommodation promises a romantic getaway, relaxing family holiday or peaceful retreat, leaving visitors revitalised and content. Country hospitality welcomes all guests, whether leisure travellers, business people or visiting academics. We would like Auberge Rozendal to be your home away from home. We have 16 en-suite rooms, each with a private patio and a view which overlooks the valley and stretches all the way to Table Mountain. Each morning, guests wind their way through the charming farm for breakfast on the Manor House terrace. Rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, and family rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rozendal Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing